The Final Countdown


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Los Angeles » Burbank
March 11th 2013
Published: March 11th 2013
Edit Blog Post

4 days away from Nome.

I finally received my flight itinerary, and as I expected it is a full day of travel. I will leave Los Angeles Friday at 7AM and arrive in Nome around 8PM local Alaska time. I change planes in Seattle, then again in Anchorage. Though we do not change planes after Anchorage, we will make a stop in Kotzebue- a town I know nothing about. But I guess after Friday I will be the envy of all my friends when I can add fabulous Kotzebue to my list of places "visited".

The one thing I haven't yet mastered is how to dress for the day of travel. It will be 75 degrees when I leave LA and single digits when I set foot in Nome. My goal for this entire Alaska experience is to try my best not to stick out like a sore thumb. I'm considering packing my down jacket into my carry-on and possibly my Sorel boots to change into once I get to Anchorage, hoping this will be enough until I can get to my apartment in Nome and get settled.

No way around it, I will be the total newbie of my crew (also- there is only one other woman besides myself on our entire team) so I am sure there will be some mild but good-natured teasing headed my way. I'll probably end up feeling like the little sister. I should thank my big brother for unknowingly training me all these years for this adventure.

Preparations are pretty much done at this point, and in these final days I am just trying to tie up any loose ends and spend as much time as I can with Beef before I take off. As exciting as the trip will be, I will miss having my dog with me and waking up with him every day. But something tells me he will be much happier racing around a yard in Los Angeles with his best dog friend than sitting in the snow in Alaska with me.

Advertisement



11th March 2013

Looking at the map you will be only a few miles from Siberia! Stay warm..
15th March 2013

You are so brave!
I am so glad you are keeping this journal! Take a lot of pictures if you can and BRING BACK SOME GOLD!!! I love you! Be safe and TRY to stay warm!! Aunt K

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0465s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb