Disneyland


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Los Angeles » Anaheim
March 13th 2012
Published: March 15th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Disneyyyyyyyyyy Day!

Disney day started very, very early. I had to catch a bus into LA at 5:55am... plus do check-out and walk to the stop, so I got up at 5am. Le sigh. I decided to change hostels for the rest of the trip so that I’m not destroying sleep time every morning.

The drive into LA was interesting – I took a different bus since I was going to Union Station; it took the highway and traffic was heavier going west/south out of LA than it was going in... I found that odd, but then again I have no idea where people work and how those logistics work. It was also 6am, so that might change during real rush hour.

Anywho, I took the Amtrak to Anaheim... totally fell asleep, but they announce the stations so I woke up the stop before mine at least. I didn’t have to wait too long to transfer to Disney which was a bonus. Another bonus? I stored my luggage at Union Station so I a) don’t have to trek back out to my hostel in Santa Monica and b) don’t need to lug it around with me in Anaheim. Win win!

The park was pretty empty when I got there... then again I got there at 8:25am lol. I headed straight to “Indiana Jones Adventure” because that’s one of the “it” rides at the moment. Didn’t need to Fastpass, line was only 20min... in reality I think it was shorter. It lived up to the hype – not the most amazing ride I’ve ever been on, but one of the better Disney ones 😊

I went back to Disney California Adventure to make sure I got in right when the doors open – they have Fastpasses for their night show and they tend to go very quick depending on how busy a day it is. Got my World of Colour ticket in hand – I figured might as well do this park while I’m here now. The Pier was still closed (they had let us in the park 30min early) so I did the Littlest Mermaid ride – I think I was the only person without a kid, but hey, any ride where I can hear Disney songs is fine by me.

The Pier opened up just as I got back out – I started with Goofy’s Flying School (pretty much the same as The Fly at Wonderland) and then did the Silly Symphony Swings! That was fun – it feels nice to have the wind on your face... even though it was a relatively chilly day again today. The coaste wasn’t running yet – I was not amused because that’s pretty much the only ride I really wanted haha.

I went on the giant ferris wheel – it had a twist of course! 75% of the gondolas are on swinging tracks, do whenever you get to the east-west side of the wheel, you go for quite a ride! It’s hard to explain, but you basically just swing back and forth along a pretty long track – it’s neat!

I pouted as I walked past the still non-functioning coaster and decided to do “It’s a Bug’s Life” again even though it’s the same as Florida’s. Nothing beats the bugs crawling out on the bench under your bum at the end of the show. It’s also great hearing all the kids laugh and totally scream at other parts haha.

At this point it wasn’t even 11am and I’d pretty much done what I hoped to do in California Adventure – all the other rides were still closed or were the same as Florida and I didn’t care. Back to Disneyland I go. Did Space Mountain (it’s different than the Florida one, but same concept) and some of the kiddy-ish rides like Mr Toad and Winnie the Pooh haha.

Of course I did “It’s a Smal World” and rocked out to music. I video-taped the whole thing too – excellent song to annoy people with.

I went to see the Aladdin musical – total shame I couldn’t video tape because I would have done the whole thing haha. It was incredibly good! Then again, you really can’t go wrong with all those great Aladdin songs. Acting was good, singing was great and the Genie was everything you could have wanted haha. There were a lot of updated jokes too by the Genie – such as Kim Kardashian’s marriage, FB timeline, Lady Gaga’s outfits, etc. It was really well done. *starts humming never had a friend like meeeeeeee*

Rest of the afternoon was just spent on more rides. I also visited “Mickey’s Toontown” which has all the favourite characters’ homes 😉 That was fun. Last real ride I went on was the Haunted House which I love if only for the song they sing/play. The ride actually broke down right near the end which was quite something... just sitting there in the dark while ghouls sing at you haha. I liked their announcement though: “An unscheduled visit from some ghouls has arisen. Please stay in your doomsday vehicle while we get fix the situation.” Cute.

(Sidenote: I found bratwurst and I got all excited! Then I went to order and she tells me they have no sauerkraut. Well that’s not a bratwurst roll now is it?! What is up with me and my inability to eat my bratwurst at both Disney’s haha. I settled for a chicken sausage with sauerkraut at a diff restaurant... sigh)

The parade was a lot of fun which is to be expected – great songs, great dancing, and all the favourite Disney characters. (Overheard during the parade: “Why does Peter Pan look like Justin Bieber?” LOL) I then went to settle in for the World of Colour show back at California Adventure – even though I had a FastPass, you have to go early for a good view over the bay. It was frickin’ cold down by the water... people had jackets and blankets and everything and I’m standing there in my wimpy sweater haha. But that’s ok the show was well worth it!

It’s a water show – great big water jets painted all different colours dancing all over and they project images (Disney clips) into the wall of mist behind. Of course Disney songs play all the way through as well – it probably is the best Disney night show I’ve seen. I particularly liked the Pochahontas and the Toy Story bits – Buzz Lightyear, always the show off. Oh! And the Pirates of the Caribbean song – it just rocks.

From there I went to my hotel, wandering aimlessly trying to find my way haha, but I did! All in all a great day, but I must give Disneyworld a major win over Disneyland in terms of stuff to do, level of fun and interactivity. In Florida they go all out to create the best possible experience for you. I find here it’s just another amusement park... idk. Still fun!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.429s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 47; dbt: 0.1418s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb