Lassen National Park, Day 3


Advertisement
Published: October 16th 2012
Edit Blog Post

The routine for this morning is the same. I'm up ahead of the sun, having tea in my hammock. As predicted, it's getting colder each day so I’m even quicker getting out of camp this morning. I’m anxious to get the heater on for the short drive to the trailhead. Today I’m hiking to Kings Creek Falls and beyond.


The trailhead is a few miles from the campground and I’m the only one here so far. The hike starts off meandering through a lovely meadow, then heads uphill. It’s a pretty morning and great hiking weather. After I reach the top of the hill the trail turns sharply downward. Oh, it’s going to be one of those hikes! Down on the way in and up on the way out. I like it! My knees appreciate the downhill less, so finishing a hike with a climb will be a nice change.


I make it down to Kings Creek Falls and have a look-see. Sweet! The trail backtracks just a little and heads southeast towards Bench Lake. It’s a gradual uphill and this lake is completely dry. It’s on to Sifford Lake which is about an extra 1.5 miles off trail and supposedly worth it.


The little alpine lake is gorgeous! I eat my lunch here, listening to the birds in the trees above me. While exploring around the lake I notice a bunch of tracks heading downhill to the west. I investigate and find some amazing rock formations! They are amazing, perched out into space, creating a dramatic cliffside which overlooks the hot springs in the distance. Wow! I walk out on several of these building sized rocks and look over the edge. It's windy. I have seen no one today and relish these silent times in nature.


It's cold and windy so I linger no longer. I decide to bushwhack through the manzanita versus going back up to the lake and around. I know where my trail is, but I check the Garmin 62stc to get familiar with the new equipment. Confirmation! I’m heading straight for it.


The hike back is scenic and uneventful. I pass a few groups of people heading to Sifford. They ask the question you inevitably hear on trails like these “How much further is the lake?” I finally arrive back to my car and I stop in my tracks. Who is parked RIGHT next to me? The Pink Panther van. . .


The hike was a little over 7 miles and it’s still early so I decide to drive back up and check out the northern end of the park since I’m leaving tomorrow and won’t be heading that way. There is a burned section of forest and "no stopping" so I snap a moving photo to capture the contrast.


I’m back at Manzanita Lake, near the northwest park entrance. I walk around a bit, it’s pretty, but more populated and I’m not in the mood to share my outdoor experience right now. I head back to camp and on the way stop at a turn-out I missed on the way in. I cross the street and into the meadow onto Hat Lake. Or more accurately, streams running through the golden pasture of what is normally Hat Lake. This is a very special place!


I arrive back at camp and breathe in the silence. But . . . no joke, not 4 minutes after I roll into camp, who pulls in right behind me? The Pink Panther van. Potential stalking situation or coincidence? There are so few people in the park, I’m chalking it up to coincidence but will be keeping an eye on them.


It’s still early so I decide to head back to Hat Lake and maybe watch the sky change. When I get there, I check the Garmin and see I have precisely 2 hours and 14 minutes until sunset. I decide to go for a hike. The sign says it's only 1.7 miles to Paradise Meadow. I’m sure they’re uphill miles, but still, I should have plenty of time. I wasn’t prepared for a hike so I’m dressed in sweats, Ugh boots and carry no water or gear. It feels nice to travel light! But of course now I’m thirsty.


The trail is a steady, gentle uphill with a lively creek running next to the path most of the way. I reach Paradise Meadows and it’s nice! The sun has dropped behind the ridge though, and I’m ready to blaze back to the car. I don’t see all that well at dusk and prefer not to get caught after dark unprepared.


I make it back to the car with just enough time to return to the Hat Lake meadow for a little more “oohing and ahhing” before making the drive back to camp. When I return, the campground has filled up a bit more but still not bad.


Tonight is my big fire night and I can’t wait! There will be no restraint as my last night in the park. I want to use everything I’ve worked for.


It’s a repeat dinner of basket grilled meat and veg with an apple for dessert, only I plan to get it right this time. And I do! I make sure my bed of coals is hot and thick. The meat is cooked perfectly as are the veggies. The dessert is the hot, delicious treat I had hoped for and makes my dinner complete!


I’m breaking camp tomorrow and want to get as prepared for the morning as possible. I’ll do one more hike in the morning before I exit the park. My situation is looking pretty good, my daypack is ready for tomorrow and business is tidied up for the night.


The fire is raging and I’m in my spot. Nice. . . My nightly routine of star gazing is broken by some new camp neighbors breaking out their guitar. At least it’s a sweet tune and one that doesn’t go on too long or too loud. It’s so warm next to the fire, I could easily slip into sleep, so I decide to retire.


I awake to the sounds of a bear walking around just outside my tent. It’s the darkest part of the night and slowly I reach out to grab my knife. Damn. I packed both my knife and spray in my efforts to expedite my morning departure. The bear is rooting around, snuffing and walking back and forth. Oh well. There’s nothing to be done so I decide to try and get back to sleep. I cozy back in and listen to the bear in my camp for a few more minutes, then he moves down to the Pink Panther camp and beyond, returning the night to silence.



Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 26


Advertisement

Hat LakeHat Lake
Hat Lake

LOVE ME SOME HAT LAKE!!


Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0543s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb