airport travel - the land fashion forgot


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » La Quinta
April 23rd 2011
Published: April 24th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Day One of Vacation. It has been a year since I've had a real vacation, so I won't pretend that I'm sane. Too much work fries the brain.

Today was the travel day. Yesterday we drove from home, Thunder Bay ON, to Minneapolis. Uneventful drive. As usual, some people just don't get the 'slower traffic keep right' concept. Strange. And since I'm driving the giant truck, you would think that me on their ass would get things moving. Wrong.

We flew US Airways to Palm Springs. Also uneventful, everything on time.

So I have two questions about travel today. One, what the hell is going on with people's clothing, and two, why do the airlines allow so many giant carry on bags?

It's almost impossible to list all the fashion infractions. I had two personal favourites. No, three. First was a woman, about my age (let's say 40-ish) wearing a skin tight black knit mini dress and sparkly sandals. Well, she sort of wore the sandals. She had to get off the moving sidewalk to switch to flip flops. Also Sparkly. After she took them off her boyfriend had to carry them. That would have been enough for me. But there were two other issues. First, the day before I almost bought a very similar pair of sandals! Thinking they were cute. Fortunately my husband was of sound mind and said I wouldn't have anywhere to wear them. As I saw the shoes in action, I was so glad one of us was sane that day. The best part was that in Phoenix, between flights, the woman in sparkly needed to put the fancy shoes back on. There was no where to sit down, so she backed up onto her boyfriend (yes, that kind of back up) bent over and tried to get the shoes on. We didn't stick around to see how that went.

Then there was 'got balls'. Yet another woman my age, wearing a black tshirt with Got Balls? printed right across her chest. This was complimented with two Pizza Hut take out pizzas. Classy.

My personal favourite was the super cool woman my age. She had a black camisole as a shirt. And tatooed arm sleeves, as welll as a few on her ankles. Then she had the 1980s bad ass bag with the word devil on it. She was cool and she knew it. Her partner did an energy shot before getting on the plane. Really? To sit? Follwoed by two power bars. hahaha. Whatever the kids are into, these two are into.

My other general observations. Most men think that a cell phone is a fashion accessory that should be strapped on their belt. Pants that touch the shoe are not required when travelling. Packsacks are ageless. It doesn't matter what shoes look like, as long as they are comfortable they are good for an airport. The bigger the bucket, the tighter the tshirt.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0479s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb