Somebody Forgot to turn off the Snow. God, Was it You?


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Kirkwood
October 20th 2009
Published: March 13th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Skiing is fun! Come spend the weekend with me skiing at Kirkwood Mountain Resort in the Sierra Nevada in California. The weather is fine, the snow is deep and the scenery unforgettable. This is what I said to my friends, but nobody wanted to go! So I went alone... The truth is I don't have any friends, but its a good cover for my lack of a social circle. On average Kirkwood gets over 41 ft /12 m of snow each year, and also has one of the highest bases in the Sierra's at 7800 ft / 2377 m. I think next to Squaw Valley and Mammoth, the large amount of terrain above treeline and steep chutes make this the best skiing California has to offer. Next weekend, Alpine Meadows WITH friends!

..´¯'·.´¯'·.¸¸.·´¯'· Steve ·.¸¸.·´¯'·.´¯'·.¸¸.·´¯'·..


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



13th March 2010

Your pictures are beautiful. I like the spires! Amazing snowy cliffs too. Wish I could ski. I do like the last picture too, of the pine cones. The President of Kirkwood, has purchased Sierra Summit, and is renaming it back to China Peak, the name it used to go by years ago. Thanks for another great blog.
13th March 2010

Envious!
Looks like a great playground :-) Have a blast at Alpine Meadows!
13th March 2010

I'll be your friend! :)
Hi Steve :) I wish we were there to go skiing with you! Ben misses mountains. I'm hot in haiti but am happy for the sun. I'll call when I get back!

Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 15; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0455s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb