Bike Or Hike.


Advertisement
Published: November 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

bouldersbouldersboulders

A strange and eery landscape
Joshua Tree National Park, south entrance campground,
11-10-2002, one o'clock in the morning.

The Box Canyon Road was hilly and I was cycling through an eery but at the same time, magnificent landscape with huge granite boulders weirdly shaped all around me, plenty of Joshua Trees and animal life a-plenty. Small packs of coyotes hunting quick footed marmots, the screams of a peregrine falcon high up in the sky and an army of scorpions on both sides of the road.

No signs of human presence though, no cars or trucks overtaking me, no houses or sheds, no agriculture or man-made structures.

By the time I fianlly reached the south entrance of the park it was getting dark and by the time I reached the campground I had to pitch my tent in near darkness.

I'm sitting in front of my tent now watching the stars and enjoying a few cans of mexican Santa Clara beer my neighbors have given me, an elderly couple from France and travelling across the USA in an hired mobile home. They're the only other guests of this campground.

A small letter box nailed against a tree at the entrance of the
MarmotMarmotMarmot

near Joshua Tree National Park
campground with a sign on it informing potential campers how much to donate for a night.
If you bike or hike it is just one dollar....I would have to be a real mean bastart if I wasn't gonna pay that sort of overnight camping fee.
There are no showers though, no toilets, no running water but there are tables and fire places.
Sitting here watching the stars and drinking my Santa Clara beer, listening to the sounds of the night I realise how lucky I'm being able to do these things, not caring much about a career, a big fat bank account, an expensive car under my *ss and a huge house with a super big mortgage.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0594s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb