Desert full of Joshua Trees


Advertisement
Published: May 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


The Joshua TreesThe Joshua TreesThe Joshua Trees

These are the Joshua Trees, aka yuccas.

Untitled I'm just testing out my travel blog to see if I can figure out how to post photos and a map and to see if people will receive an alert when I post to it.
James and I visited Joshua Tree National Park yesterday. It's been so dry here in California, just 2 inches of rain this year, so there was no water in site, but most of the trees still looked pretty good. As we entered the park I asked James, "where are the trees"? To which he replied, "those are the trees" and I said "oh, I thought those were Yuccas". One and the same folks. We were fortunate enough to see a bobcat at our lunch stop and many cool rocks. We took the "geology road" and continued on it for what seemed to be 100 miles. The park recommends turning around at mile 8 but we followed it until we were doing that lovely "offroading" thing those muscle men talk about. After we got out of the park James took me to call some owls that he'd seen last year. It was a joy to be back with the spotteds. They're so vocal and curious. Tomorrow I leave for Alberta and begin my new job on Monday.
Will post again from there, though I think the scenery may be a bit boring.
Much love, Jennie

Advertisement



19th May 2007

Thanks for sharing!
hi there, It looks like its hot and dry there. its a wonder how things survive in those conditions, isn't it? There's a lot there, though, that we can't see. it's interesting at any rate. Cute pictures of you and James. Tell him hi for me. Love you, Mom
19th May 2007

very cool!
I didn't even know you could do a travel blog. I'm excited that I'll actually get to read about some of the stuff you do this time (I usually hear about it 3rd hand). Now we can all live vicariously through you again! Happy travels! love, Katy
20th May 2007

yeah jenni !!!
yeah jenni!!!

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0351s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb