Day 14


Advertisement
Published: October 2nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Today I have been surrounded by massive read wood trees. They are huge. I've had another easier day today and have been chilling amongst the trees which has been great.
The mornings are getting colder, I had to put gloves on to start with today. I had to take them off again after not very long tho as I had to fix another flat tyre, that’s three now.
After I was back on my way again I had about 50km of highway riding before getting onto the avenue of the giants. A road that runs parallel to the freeway but goes through red wood groves. There is also an interp trail with stops every few miles which has been really interesting. I went for a walk through one of the glades and you really get a feel of being very small. It makes you think when your walking around trees that have been standing in the same place for nearly 2000 years. Its not till you see one of these giants fallen on the ground that you realise its true diameter. Most that I have seen are taller than I am, which correlates to about 1000 years I think.
This campsite is great, camping among younger trees but they are still much larger than any trees back home. I had my tent up by 3 today and spent the afternoon reading and planning on top of a 15' or so stump that’s next to my tent. Perfect
Today's stats were:

Ride time - 3:28:39
Average speed - 20.8km/h
Max speed - 53.5km/h
Distance - 72.59km
Trip distance - 1323.58km

Aly x



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



3rd October 2009

photos
Hi Aly what lovely photos you have taken you realy get a feel for the place Angie
3rd October 2009

Wonderful pictures.
You are certainly having an adventure Aly. They are great photos that you are taking. You aught to write a book about it. Rather like the other famous one, Fifty Years in the Saddle by Major Bumsaw.

Tot: 0.15s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0444s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb