Highway 36


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Fortuna
April 19th 2010
Published: April 19th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Well I have been obsessing about taking this ride for awhile. As you can see from my favorite picture that is the reason why. Thats right boys and girls, count em, 140 miles of nothing bit curves! Only a motorcyclist would be interested in that.
So I started out early Saturday morning, dressing warm because I I thought it would be chilly. Man was I ever right. Unfortunately no heated jacket or gloves. O well I just had to suck it up and keep going. It warmed up later.
So I headed to Red Bluff via the I-5 Slab. Made good time. I stopped at a diner called Black Bear Diner. As I found out later this is actually a chain. Even so it was excellent! I has chicken fried steak hash browns eggs and these HUGE buns. Check out the pictures. There was enough for two grown! Price was right also.
As for highway 36, it was great. Once I got over to Fortuna I went up to Eureka to catch a motel for the night. Is it just me but do all motel have lousy beds? I think I would have been better to sleep on the floor it was so soft.
Anyway,I got my but up early and on the road by 7:30 am. I got on highway 101 and headed out to 20 and over to Williams. From there I caught the I-5 slab back to Stockton. I was glad to get home. Tired but I had a good time. Total mileage was 690 miles. Gas mileage was about 54 miles to the gallon. So I was in for 110 bucks give or take for two days of fun. Not bad I thinks


Additional photos below
Photos: 65, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

The fun beginsThe fun begins
The fun begins

Thats right, you read that right. 140 miles


Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0557s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb