G and P day


Advertisement
Published: July 6th 2013
Edit Blog Post

View of coastView of coastView of coast

Great view unobstructed by guard rails.
Departed Eureka KOA after saying goodbye to Bea and Virginia(the dog) as they were headed off to the redwoods and we were going south. Took the Lost Coast Highway and it proved rather challenging..especially fully loaded. If you decide to try it then do it as light as possible. It is rather difficult to pick up a fully loaded bike from a downhill incline. I missed a shift on a hairpin uphill curve and dropped the bike. Deb followed suit to keep from hitting me. Sorta took the fun out of the rest of the day and the curves to follow. I was worried about an instant replay and also a tad sore from the drop and roll.

The scenery from the coast highway is beautiful. Of course the 4th of July weekend is not the best time to find a vacant motel room. Finally found one in Ft. Bragg (not N. Carolina). Garmin is not always up to date on locations as several of the motels were closed and had been for a while.

Yes,it was a G and P day. A grit and pucker day for sure. Sometimes riding skills come in handy when you have to avoid an accident and do the least damage. The hill was very steep and road cambered to right on left a cliff and on right of Charlie was a ditch of gravel. I knew I had to lay bike down before I got to Charlie or there would be more damage. So I did but no injuries to me because of "all gear all the time" rule. I shudder to think what it would have been with no helmet, boots, gloves or ballistic padded jacket. My hip pads took the brunt of the fall, too. Afterwards, all I wanted was a motel room. I did not care how much it cost or if
Jack the Ripper was the manager!A nice dinner with some good California wine and all was right with the world.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Humbolt Redwood ForrestHumbolt Redwood Forrest
Humbolt Redwood Forrest

Not exactly a wide road but miles of big, tall trees


6th July 2013

Dirt section of the Lost Coast Road
Sorry about the mishap. Now you have me wondering how I managed it twice on my '91 K100RS.
7th July 2013

Beautiful
Wow , it's sooooooo pretty, Looks cool too!

Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 32; dbt: 0.029s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb