Fort Bragg Trips


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Fort Bragg
October 9th 2009
Published: October 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Me and my 250 NinjaMe and my 250 NinjaMe and my 250 Ninja

Me and my 250 Ninja at my sisters house. Note the tank bag. It's made by Axio.It packs a lot of stuff but don't like because it gets in the way all the time.
I decided to go up to see my sister in Fort Bragg and I got the brillant idea from someone to try another way.
The first one I started by going up I-5 to Williams and then crossing over on Highway 20 over Clear Lake and through Willits. From there its about 26 miles of all twistie roads to Fort Bragg. A true motorcyclists dream. Nothing but curves. 😊
The second I started with I-5 again then crossed over onto Highway 12. That road really sucked at times. It went Highway 29 then to Highway 128 from there on to the coast.
I went through a lot of little towns I had not seen in about 45 years. So this was kind of cool. I had one place in special I was headed for . It was called the Owl cafe in Cloverdale. The last time I was there I was about 9 years old! Just had to stop for breakfast. 😊



Additional photos below
Photos: 66, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

I-5I-5
I-5

You can make good time on I-5 but there is not much to see but farms land. Lots and lots farm land.
More farm landMore farm land
More farm land

Like I said, lots of farm land. I have always thought California has lost most of its farm land to houses but that sure isn't the case.
Williams or bustWilliams or bust
Williams or bust

10 miles to go before the road gets a little more interesting.
Clear LakeClear Lake
Clear Lake

I heard a lot of stories about speed traps so I was careful. I did not see any of the local constables. Besides I would never speed ! , Honest officer
Clear LakeClear Lake
Clear Lake

I did not know that this lake was that big.
WillitsWillits
Willits

Checkout the sign on the right. It is about an old steam train that travels between Willits and Fort Bragg called the skunk. If you have the time don't miss out on taking a trip on it.
On of the many State ParksOn of the many State Parks
On of the many State Parks

This bridge is so big I could not get it far enough back to get it all in frame
Boat going nowhereBoat going nowhere
Boat going nowhere

I stop to shoot aa picture of this big fishing boat they were working on. The funny thing is it was a couple miles away from the ocean. I bet it would be really interesting watching them get this back to the water
Leaving Fort BraggLeaving Fort Bragg
Leaving Fort Bragg

When I left Stockton it was pretty chillie. But heated up quick. Cooled off on the coast. When leaving I had to strip most of my running gear off because it got hot even though I was only about 10 miles away.


10th October 2009

awsome!
Hey Randal...I love the pictures! Looks like you had a great time and saw some beautiful landscapes! Can't wait to read about your adventures on here! Thanks for sharing! Ben and Heather...and kids!!
15th October 2009

Hey Dad good job! You took some great photos. Keep posting your trips.
1st May 2010

nice!
I have only been up there one time, but you were right near where my mother lived for a few years in Ft Bragg. I loved the trip up to Mendocino from Cloverdale on that great route! One of the best roads I ever drove on, it goes from windy canyons, to farmland, to to vineyards and eventually through the great forest along the river! Gotta try that on a bike some day.

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0524s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb