Highway 36, 101 and Ferndale


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Ferndale
July 19th 2011
Published: July 20th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Highway 36 ,Highway 101 and Ferndale


I was planning on going up to this little town called Ferndale for awhile and finally did it yesterday. Got a late start. The plan was to go take the I-5 slab to Red Bluff, then take my favorite road, Highway 36 to Eureka.Then drop down from there to Ferndale.
One nice thing about having a bike is you can explore a lot of different places when the mood its. The 1-5 is a slab. Boring as all get out. Now highway 36 is a different story.
A lot of you already know about the 140 miles of curves. You really can not take your eyes off of it for a minute. The surrounding area is really quite beautiful but keep your eyes glued to the road for the occasional deer or rocks in the road.
Highway 36 starts outside of Red Bluff and ends in Fortuna. Lots of bikes out and about on this road. Whether you start at one end of the other, be sure to gas up before you leave. There are not many gas stations out there. Maybe two or three.
I got to try out my rain gear that I bought a while back. It is made by Tour Master. Definitely two thumbs up.Hit a couple down pours and then some drizzling till I got to Willits. Then it started to heat up big time. Off the rain gear quick. After that it was beautiful weather going home.
Ferndale is a cool little town with really old buildings. I only got a few pics before it got to raining pretty hard.
I pulled into a motel in Eureka to crash for the night to get an early start the next day and this guy pulls up on a Beemer. He has this big grin on his face and we get talking. And he tells me he had a bird strike doing about 60. He has a 1300 GT. The bird struck at the base of his windshield and broke part off. As it turns out he got off easy, as he had killed a Turkey Vulture! Those friggen things are huge. If it had been higher it could have been bad. It would of been like getting hit with a balling ball.
Going down 101 is always nice . Hey, who doesn’t like redwood trees. No pics there as I was taking a bath at the time. 😊
I took up a conversation later with a couple on a HD. Nice people. Just when I think most HD people are jackasses someone like this proves me wrong. I do need a attitude adjustment from time to time. We road together for quite awhile. They were going to Colusa and I was going to Williams and then down I-5 to Stockton.
All and all,I would say it was a good two days. Met some nice people and put 693 miles on my trusty little steed.


Additional photos below
Photos: 53, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

DSC00939DSC00939
DSC00939

Just another ones of the road I probably I should not have gone on. Oh well
DSC00941DSC00941
DSC00941

Yes I was thinking of going up that hill with the bike.But my sanity returned at the last minute. I have to say it was a nice view.


Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0416s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb