Packing my Panniers and loading the bike


Advertisement
Published: May 1st 2018
Edit Blog Post

First rideFirst rideFirst ride

Fully loaded test ride
Now that we have entered May, I am completing my final preparations.

Yesterday, I used the lists I have been formulating, gathered the items on the list and packed my Panniers.

Just for fun I weighed everything and almost wish I hadn’t.



So here is the result:

Bike- Surley Long Haul Trucker with pump, pedals and racks- 35lbs

Front Panniers 7.2L and 7.4R or 14.6lbs

Rear Panners 13.6Land 15.2R or 28.8lbs

Handlebar bag - 3.2 lbs

Total- 81.6 lbs UGH!



Obviously...that is too much! But what do I throw overboard?

The most obvious would be camping gear. That would save about 15 lbs, but I highly doubt I can complete this trip without some camping. I have to keep that option.

I’ve also got full rain gear; (jacket, rain pants, gloves, shoe covers and helmet cover), but I’m sure I will need those at some time! I sure was glad to have them on the West Coast Ride!

What else? A few bike tools, extra tubes, patch kit, pump? Gotta have those.

I also packed three bicycle outfits, 3 underwear, I long pants, 1 short pants, flip flops, lightweight tennis shoes a couple of T shirts, I Patagonia puffer coat, wool long underwear and three pair of socks.

And of course toiletries and a first aid kit.

And finally, a rather heavy 20nM battery to keep my electronics running when I do camp.

So that’s it! I’m even leaving out my iPad which I may regret!



Ok so next question, how does it ride?

Yesterday I loaded my bike up rode my “ go to 21 miler” with about 1500 feet of climbing including a short 14% lump and it went OK.

At first it felt like I imagine a fully loaded 747 airliner must feel, but I adapted pretty quickly and had plenty of grannies to get me up that 14%er.

Today I am going to pack the bike up and send it to Norfolk via Bikeflights.com

I will be flying there on the 11th of May, spend a couple of days in the Yorktown area doing a shakedown and the adventure begins on May 15.

I am pumped!

Advertisement



2nd May 2018

Bon Voyage!
Brother Bob - As you embark on this amazing journey I just wanted to tell you how awe-inspiring you are to those of us observing. For the next three months, while we relax on our comfortable couches, and sleep in our cozy beds, we will be inspired watching you peddle yourself across this beautiful country of ours, crossing mountain ranges, likely enduring lousy weather and terrible sleeping conditions, but hopefully having the time of your life! We look forward to future blogs as we follow you along on this adventure of a lifetime! We will be with you in spirit Brother! May all your travels be safe!
3rd May 2018

Thanks for the encouragement
I’m sure I will think of your couch hundreds of times but I just can’t leave this box unchecked. Someday, when my time comes, I want the obituary to say, “ALL USED UP”
11th May 2018

You inspire us!
Bon voyage Bob! We will be following you and reading your adventures. Knowing you, you will be smelling the roses along the way. You encourage us to get off the couch. We are with you! Ride safe.
11th May 2018

Safe arrival
Bob, we trust that you made it to VA safely and send our prayers and best wishes for a safe and healthy ride across our great country. I know that you will be amazed by the kindness of strangers as you make your journey to the West. All the best and see you soon!
12th May 2018

Thanks
Bruce, Strengthing words. See you in a week
22nd May 2018
First ride

Hello Bob
get going you have a long ways to go

Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0744s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb