CARMEL/MONTEREY


Advertisement
Published: January 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

OUR SUMMER IN CARMELOUR SUMMER IN CARMELOUR SUMMER IN CARMEL

Source of my story about travels in and around Carmel
This entry begins a new series of my travels which will get its input from my book Our Summer in Carmel (Amazon.com) The book describes the experiences my wife, Elysee, and I had while renting a summer home in Carmel for three plus months. What the book also does is provide an example of a lifestyle I champion and the reason behind my name no2ndhome. It is my belief that for many persons, especially retiring "Boomers", temporarily renting a second home each summer, preferably in a different place each year, is a superior financial and lifestyle strategy than buying a second home. While not for everyone, it has many advantages.

I have been enchanted with the Monterey Peninsular ever since I first drove down 17 mile drive in December 1964. Returning from a tour of duty with the US Army in Korea, I was met by my wife in San Francisco and we just took off south with the the eventual destination of Guaymus, Mexico. I was unprepared for the splendor of the Monterey area, its history, culture, arts, seascape, climate and intelligent population. Abandoning my own advice to reside each summer in a different place in world each year I have been lured back to Carmel/Monterey every three or four years.
This 157 page photo/journal account is about one of those visits. I would like to share with others the Carmal/Monterey area and my notion of renting each year instead of purchasing a second home. I've included the cover from the book as a way of introduction

Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 11; qc: 18; dbt: 0.0302s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1020.4kb