Home


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Campbell
November 9th 2012
Published: November 15th 2012
Edit Blog Post

We've been home for 3.5 weeks now... longer than our trip, and we're both still having trouble adjusting to being back, wishing we were still there as well as waking up early.

Since being back, we watched two shows about the most dangerous towns in the world, one in India with killer elephants, one where we were off of the Zambeze River and the killer hippos... SOOOO glad I didn't see the later before we went. I had no idea hippos were so vicious and deadly!

People keep asking what the best part of the trip was. For me, the trip was just better and better each day, the "best day" I blogged about does stand out to me still as the best day of the trip. For John, the best part was hanging over Victoria Falls...Oy!

We think this would be an incredible trip to do with kids 10-12 years old... old enough to remember the trip, young enough to still be inquisitive and be ok taking a trip with their parents. You learn so much history, biology, botony, and we really want our kids to experience this and plan to do it. Highly recommend for anyone with kids!!

I'm also asked if it was what I expected, and what surprised me. I can't say I really had any expectations other than we'd be really busy... and we were. The one thing we'd both change about the trip is add an extra day in Cape Town, and an extra 1-2 days in Livingston, both to just relax. We will definitely go back to the Royal Livingston, such an amazing place to stay! What surprised me? I think meeting the nicest people I've ever met on my travels and that everywhere we went was so vegetarian friendly. I didn't necessarily expect to have trouble finding veg options, but it was probably even more veg friendly than California which was surprising. I'm also surprised at how messed up my back still is... sitting is bad for me, but sitting 10-12 hrs per day in off road vehicles is killer! I didn't realize an active trip could be so inactive... will figure out how to do that better next time.

Where will our next adventure be? Probably a combo of Argentina/Brazil/Antartica, or maybe Australia/New Zealand, or maybe.... 😉

Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0512s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb