I Bought a Racehorse


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Arcadia
April 3rd 2019
Published: April 3rd 2019
Edit Blog Post

This really is a travel story, so be patient with me….

If you have been following along, you know that I very much enjoy horse racing. I watched my first horse back in the ‘80s at the St. Joe County Fair in St. Joseph, Michigan. It was a chilly, gray day at the end of September, with occasional rain showers. The seats were on old wooden, splintery bleachers, but they were free, and gave me a chance to sit down for a few minutes, and that was all it took.

I sat there, in the rain, drinking bad coffee, for a couple of hours, and watched, fascinated. And the more I watched, the more I wanted to know. Now, when I travel, I always check to see if there is any racing scheduled at my destination. I’ve had a chance to visit racetracks from the Caribbean to Asia, and I’m still fascinated.

I now live in southern California, near the Del Mar Thoroughbred race track, and I go pretty regularly in the summer. I’m not much of a gambler, for me a big bet is $2 to show on the favorite. I had gone to several seminars over the years about buying and owning a racehorse, and every time I concluded I didn’t know enough to spend that much money. When I found out that the average cost for stabling, feed, training, and vet bills was about $3,000 a month, I decided I could do a whole lot of traveling for that amount of cash.

And then last year, on the next to last day of the summer meet at Del Mar, there were some people in the plaza with a big sign that said “Own a share of a racehorse for $100.” To make a long story marginally shorter, this was a company that offered fractional shares of racehorses that they owned. I found a horse that, while costing more than $100 per share, had a good pedigree and was in the barn of a good trainer, so I jumped in.

My horse, (I call her my horse, even though I only own a tiny fraction of a percent of her) had a very good year in 2018. She was entered into six races, and ran in the money in all of them. With one exception, those races had been at Del Mar, so I was able to watch her run.

Now here is where the travel story starts…

Del Mar closed for the winter the first weekend in December, and southern California racing moved to Santa Anita Park in Arcadia, California.

Santa Anita is about 100 miles from my house, but I had never been there. I’d made plans to go, but something always came up at the last minute. Then I got an email saying my horse, Sauce on Side, was going to be running this Friday after being off for almost two months. (Or at least my tiny fraction was going along while the rest of the horse ran around the track.) So I made plans to attend.

Santa Anita Park is in Arcadia, just west of Pasadena, the home of Cal Tech, and about 25 miles from Los Angeles. Everything you have ever heard about the horrific traffic in Los Angeles in true – and then some. Just to give you an idea, Google maps estimates travel time for the 25 miles from Santa Anita Park to Los Angeles at an hour and 8 minutes, and that’s on the highway. Since I was coming from the south - and had carefully timed my departure time to miss rush hour – I made it in under two hours. (And no, officer, I didn’t break the speed limit, though I may have bent it a little….)

First thing to know is this place is HUGE. The complex takes up over 300 acres. For comparison, Churchill Downs, home to the Kentucky Derby, is less than half the size of Santa Anita. I arrived just before the gates opened on a week day, so the parking lots were pretty empty. I made careful note of where I parked- next to a fence, under a palm tree – so I would be able to find my vehicle when I wanted to leave.

Sauce on Side was in the second race so I had a couple of hours to roam around the clubhouse, which has some lovely stained glass and some very nice art. Since it was a week day with no scheduled stakes races, there weren’t very many people there.

While there had been horse racing in Arcadia since 1907, the legalization of pari-mutuel betting in 1933 made the idea of racing much more interesting. In 1934 Dr. Charles Strub, a San Francisco dentist, and Hal Roach, a movie producer known for the Laurel and Hardy films, teamed up and opened Santa Anita Park at the foot of the San Gabriel Mountains. As a side note, Hal Roach wasn’t the only Hollywood personality to be involved in horse racing; movie stars Pat O’Brien and Bing Crosby opened the Del Mar race track in 1936 after seeing the success of Santa Anita.

At Santa Anita you can see into the paddock saddling area, where the horses get kitted out with their saddles and saddle clothes before getting led out into the paddock. In the paddock, the jockeys get their last minute instructions from the trainer, and when the paddock judge gives the word for “riders up,” the jockey gets a leg up into the saddle and takes the horse out onto the track.

I had a paddock badge, so I was able to see the action from inside the paddock, which truthfully wasn’t all that different from seeing it from outside the paddock. The other fractional owners and I were able to say hello to Heriberto Figueroa – the jockey – and then we moved up to the box seats to watch the race.

Sauce On Side ran her typical race, that is, she ran dead last until the last quarter mile. Then she realized she was in a horse race and put on a burst of speed to end up in the money where she paid $2.40.

I wanted to get on the road before the traffic got too bad, so after chatting a bit with the other fractional owners I headed out. Remember I said this place was huge? And that I had carefully parked next to a fence under a palm tree? What I failed to take into account was that there is over a mile and a half of fenced parking lot, and that the entire fence was lined with palm trees. And I drive a small, white SUV, which has to be the most common vehicle in all of southern California.

After spending a good 45 minutes wandering around, muttering under my breath, I finally found my vehicle. The drive back home wasn’t too bad, about two and a half hours, so all in all it was a pretty good day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



3rd April 2019

Bravo Karen
Having been to the races with you we really enjoyed reading this blog. I'm glad your horse is doing so well. I think you may need to do more race traveling.
4th April 2019

Race travelling...
Thanks MJ. It looks like the G3 Epsom Cup is going to be run in Tokyo while I'm there this summer, I might need to check it out.
4th April 2019

Congratulations to the 'fractional owner'
Every one has a dream or two, and every one cherishes when the 'dream comes true'. Sauce on side made your dream come true, although she is fractionally yours. Enjoy!
4th April 2019

Thanks!
Thanks for the kind words. I think fractional ownership is such a good idea. It gives people like me who just really like horse racing a way to be part of it with very little risk - and very little upside; while I do get to share in any purses, you can imagine that after expenses my one fifth of one percent doesn't add up to much. But I still cheer just as loud, and I get the same glass of champagne i the Winner's Lounge as the people with a lot bugger stake.
4th April 2019

Acer Laptop service center chennai
Nice post thanks for sharing
4th April 2019

Thanks!
Thanks for following along.
4th April 2019

Interesting!
Interesting read. Wish we had horses nearby to write about them so keenly.
4th April 2019

Follow along
Thanks for your kind words. India has a long and rich history of horse racing, so I'm sure you are in good company.
5th April 2019
official results 3-1-19

3-1-19
I love that you have a fractional or any share in a racehorse Karen. What a bonansa that "your" horse is also a potential winner. I also love the concept of a horse that is coming last and accelerates smiling while flying past the others. Makes for a heart dropping race. We have a mare in Oz called Winx who unbeaten has just won her last 32 races in a row...a World Record I believe. She always sits back in the field then...wooosh...acceleration like you have never seen. May your Sauce on Side continue to have that wooosh factor and sometimes bring home the bacon...smiling all the way!.
5th April 2019
official results 3-1-19

come from behind
You're right - Winx is a great horse, and she's still racing! There is a great YouTube video of Sauce on Side running at Del Mar December 1, 2018. where she came from 10 lengths off the lead to finish first. [url=https://youtu.be/d2TR0JsO9AU/]DelMarSauceonSide[/url]
5th April 2019

Thanks
Its really great. i am always looking that kind of blog. thanks for sharing. http://www.jodhpurtourandtravels.com/
5th April 2019

Thanks!
Thanks for following along on my adventures.
6th April 2019

From last to first
Great video Karen. You obviously have a great horse...was 5/2 in that race so expected to run well. Got her revenge on Tiz Toffee who beat her earlier in the year but I gotta say she appeared caught tight on the rails. I'll keep an eye on Sauce for Side. Must be great to be one of the owners!
6th April 2019

Last to first
When Sauce on Side crossed that finish line in the video, a great roar went up in the stands, it was such a great ride. I have a tiny share of another horse, Noble Goddess, who has yet to run. The trainer is saying he will probably put her in a race later this month. Noble Goddess was sired by Noble Mission, a British horse, owned in part by Prince Khalid Bin Abdullah. (Though I kinda doubt the prince will be rubbing shoulders with me any time soon.

Tot: 0.305s; Tpl: 0.028s; cc: 33; qc: 125; dbt: 0.1563s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb