Walking 500 Miles Across Northern Spain


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arkansas » Springdale
February 26th 2014
Published: March 1st 2014
Edit Blog Post

Hola' ! , That's about the extent of my spanish .In the next 212 days ( give or take) I have to get a grip on this language and become at least semi proficiant . The urgency for this is because Laurie ( wife) Andrew(son) and I(Joe) are throwing our backpacks on and starting our trek across Spain. Specifically The Camino De Santiago-Frances . "The Way of St James" .

Greater personages then me have written many great words about The Way so I won't bore you except to say we will begin the trek in St Jean Pied du Port France and end (hopefully) at Santiago de Compostela Spain . What I will do is direct you to links that will give you all the information you will ever need , No Charge , Who know's you might just become a Way-ologist.

Heres a link to a great movie that tells about it. Titled "The Way" http://www.theway-themovie.com/camino.php

This Blog I am writing is here for four reasons 1) To help me focus on what I need to get done between now ( 2/26 ) and the day we head to the airport (9/23). 2) Provide helpful information for future Pilgrims 3) Allow me to flaunt my over-the-top hedonistic-ness. 4) Have a travelog for our family and friends to keep an eye on our progress. Speaking of friends the picture above right has two very good friends and neighbors of ours , Rich & Tami Thomas , I'm on the right , all getting back from hiking the Pigeon Roost trail, Hobbs State Forest , Benton Co Arkansas . Below is a pic of me and their beautiful daughter Makenzie.

Entries are going to be "on occasion" until we get closer to travel time . I'll be coming back and forth here as stuff gets purchased and pictures of stuff get taken. Stuff falls into two categories, 1) Things that go into a backpack (Ruksack) such as sleeping bags , socks, first aid kits and 2) things that don't go into the backpack such as , fellow pilgrims , shoes, hats , watermelon, blisters , stuff like that there. keeping it simple


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Makenzie and I Makenzie and I
Makenzie and I

"Niece" Makanzie aka Z, Richie and Tami's daughter. I was hoping to adopt her but they didn't want to give their daughter up so I had to settle for honorary "Uncle"


31st August 2014

Your trip
Will be following you until your trip and then your trek through Spain. Would I be even just 20 years younger would love to take that walk. Will add prayers while you trek to keep you safe and your feet healthy and strong. LOL
1st September 2014

Thanks Lynn!
Will try to keep the blog up to date as long as the wifi is available , fingers crossed !
9th September 2014

Buen Camino
Hola. Enjoy your pilgrimage. If you are going through Brea which is near to Pedrouzo Galicia and usually the last stop before Santiago why not check into my friends very comfortable Pension. Check out the accommadation and rates at theway.org.es
10th September 2014

Buen Camino
Thanks Patrica! Appreciate the recommendation, certainly hope we get that far!

Tot: 0.341s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0668s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb