Hysterical Journey to Historic Places


Advertisement
Published: May 2nd 2013
Edit Blog Post

MUSEUMMUSEUMMUSEUM

This is the National Guard Museum. The building is on the National register of Historic Places. It may be the only building left at Camp Robinson that was here when my dad was here.
DAY TEN: MAY 1, 2013



Up in Missouri they call it Toad in a Hole. Over in Maryland it is called Brown Eyed Susan. It is a slice of sour dough bread with a hole cut out of the middle and an egg is lightly grilled inside the hole. In Arkansas it is called Eggs in a Basket. Look for it at the Crapper Barrel. Our family has been having it breakfast for about as long as I can remember, but this is the first time ever I saw it on a menu anywhere. Wound up this evening at a little place called Oakland, Tennessee after drive of 212.6 miles. Oakland is noted for its poor barbeque. If you are hungry find a place to eat in Memphis. This was a day that started out fine.



Camp Joseph T. Robinson



The sky was overcast and threatening rain in Little Rock, but I enjoyed my visit to National Guard Museum at Camp Joseph T. Robinson. The museum lady found a picture of my dad’s platoon. His name is listed in it, but I did not see anyone who looked
DIORAMADIORAMADIORAMA

This is a diorama showing the layout of the camp during WWII. There is no way of knowing to what company area he was assigned.
like him. There were more names listed for the picture than there soldiers standing in it. I suspect my dad may have found a way to dodge the photo session. She also provided quite a bit of historical background about the 153rd Regt and its tour in the Aleutians. I have not yet had an opportunity to read through it. I did find a picture hanging up in a prominent place in the museum that looks like it might be my dad. It is a great picture.



I made what turned out to be a bad choice this afternoon after struggling through 48 miles of road construction on I-40. It was slow going and threw me behind schedule. The original plan was turn north at the Mississippi River and go visit Dyess, Arkansas. It is the little town that Johnny Cash was raised in. It is quite some distance up there though and there is no bridge across the river between Memphis and Missouri. It would have been about a 200 mile detour so I decided blow Johnny off and got terribly lost in Memphis instead. Folks in Memphis all learned how to drive from Mom Mabry.
HAND TO HAND COMBAT TRAININGHAND TO HAND COMBAT TRAININGHAND TO HAND COMBAT TRAINING

This bad ass looks quite a bit like my dad. What are the chances? There were only 878 cadre there in 1944. If it is him I never knew he had a move like that.
The rain that had been threatening turned into a damned lively squall and I had to steer past several crashes and a shooting. Finally I found my way out of Memphis and promise to Jesus, Mary, Joseph, and all of the saints that I never again will be seen in Memphis. Sorry Johnny, I should have gone to Dyess and plumb up to Missouri.



Hopefully tomorrow will be better. I am headed over to see Buford Pusser’s place, and then on to the battlefield at Shiloh. I want to stand on the ground where Company I of the 21st Missouri Infantry fought. Our two times great grampa, J.J. Oliver, was shot by Confederates there and had to floated back across the Tennessee River with some other casualties. Buford Pusser was the reformation sheriff of McNairy County that used a hickory fence post to restore order and humility to the community. They made a made a movie called Standing Tall about him. Joe Don Baker starred in it. That little town of McAdamsville is on Hwy 64 about 7 miles north of Shiloh.

Advertisement



2nd May 2013

Life....
Hang in there. Its going to improve. I look forward to your travels.

Tot: 0.22s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 53; dbt: 0.1144s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb