Day Five: Little Rock, Arkansas YIPPPIIIEEE!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arkansas » Little Rock
July 14th 2009
Published: July 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Today, we drove from Memphis to Little Rock. On the way, I fulfilled my dream of going to Graceland! I've been wanting to go there for years now. It was a blast. We saw a fair amount of Elvis' jumpsuits, his uniform from when he was in the service, and his house. Inside his house we saw his parents' room, his racquetball room, and everything else except the upstairs because that level of the house was always private when he was alive, and they've kept it that way ever since! In the backyard, there is a pool, fields for the Graceland horses, a water fountain, and his parents', grandma's, twin brother's, and Elvis' graves. We bought an Elvis mug, some postcards, and a biography of Elvis. Mom's favorite part of the experience was looking inside the customized airplanes. She also said that she was happy to take me to Graceland because of my obsession with Elvis. My favorite part was seeing this famous guy's house and also seeing his actual costumes. It just made me so happy to be there. It made it so much better that someone that I love was also there! I just wish that my Dad and sis could've been there, too. For lunch mom ate a veggie hamburger and some fries which she thought was "the exact lunch she was looking for!" I tried a grilled peanut butter and banana sandwich. It was pretty good. I've never had one of those before, it was sweet and the right amount of mushy: not as hard as rock. Elvis actually liked grilled peanut butter and banana sandwiches so it was cool.

When we were driving from Tennessee to Little Rock, we really liked the scenery. It was so green out there! We wouldn't see stores or any other manmade thing for miles at a time. Mom says, "I was surprised about how flat it was." It just makes me happy how friendly people are. Like when we were talking to one of the chambermaids at our last hotel about her dogs. She said to us, "You're leaving me already?!" But then we had a very nice talk.

Then, later today after we drove into Little Rock, we had dinner at Juanita's. Mom ate a spinach mushroom enchilada. She thought it was very good. I ate an enchilada and a burrito. I thought they were very spicy. But maybe that's because I ate too many chips with spicy salsa. I also thought the burrito tasted like a hot dog, even though I've never eaten a hot dog. I'd give the burrito a 5 on a scale of 1 to 10 since I wasn't choking it up.

Tomorrow, we plan to see Harry Potter 6 in a theater in Oklahoma. It comes out tonight at midnight. I'm so excited!~!!!!😊

Sorry about the bad joke about me being a bad travel companion. My grandmother took it seriously. Mom says that she actually loves traveling with me, and we're both having so much fun on this cross-country road trip.
~Mary and Ellie





Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Hippy PlaneHippy Plane
Hippy Plane

Check out the wild seat colors!


15th July 2009

Favorite post yet
I was curious to hear about your impressions about Graceland. Sounds like it was a big hit. How long were you there? Is Graceland in the city? Love, Dad P.S.: hello to all friends who've been sending comments to Ellie's and Mary's posts
15th July 2009

Graceland Happiness!
Hey Dad! We were there for approx. 5 hrs. It's in the southern part of Memphis. We Luv U, Dad. E. Boy!
15th July 2009

Elvis in concert
Ellie, When I was in high school Elvis came to Bloomington and I saw him live in a concert. When he entered the building they would announce on the loud speaker "Elvis has entered the building" and everyone went crazy. The did the same when he left the building and ever was sad. During the concert he always kept a white scarf around his neck. When he was hot he would use it to wipe the sweat off of his face and then throw it into the audience and everyone would fight to try and get the scarf. He had on a white outfit with slot of hold on it. He was overweight at the time but his voice was awesome. I can understand why you you get so excited by him. He was a huge talent. Mary, can you send me Susan Mays e-mail address. I would like to say hello to her. Love you guys, Mark
15th July 2009

Elvis in Bloomington???? No way!!!
Dude, now I know I shouldn't have dropped out of high school and stayed in New England! I should have returned to B'ton and waited to see THE KING!!! Sounds like quite a concert. What else did I miss???
15th July 2009

Elvis, that's so cool!
Oh, my gosh!! He came to your high school? That's so awesome! I would've loved to got to one of his concerts. How are you and family?? xoxoxoxo Ellie
15th July 2009

Elvis, that's so cool!
Hey Mark! Where did he preform in Bloomington?
15th July 2009

So glad you had an outstanding time at Graceland. I was going to ask you if you ate a grilled peanut butter/banana sandwich, but you answered my question. I thought you could not visit Graceland and be a big, big Elvis fan without eating what the King ate. i didn't see the King in Bloomington, but I remember he was here. Won't Harry Potter be a comedown after spending most of the day at Graceland? Keep having lots of fun.
15th July 2009

Did you find out the answer to that all important question.....is Elvis still alive????????
15th July 2009

Oklahoma
Ellie, Will you be singing your favorite songs from Oklahoma when you enter the Sooner state?? What is a sooner?
16th July 2009

Elvis sighting
When I was in high school, I saw Elvis at a 7-11 in Madison, New Jersey. Sure, they said he had been dead for four years, but believe me, I know Elvis. I believe I even heard him start singing "Don't Be Cruel" under his breath as he sipped his root beer Slushie. Your blog is awesome--gets me psyched for our own cross-country trip later this summer. Keep up the good work! The burrito postings are especially helpful. xoxo--Janet H.
17th July 2009

Oklahoma!!
Hey Anne! What's a Sooner state? xoxoxo Ellie
17th July 2009

Elvis, alive or dead?
Hi Sue! I don't think he's alive, but I wished he were! Ellie
17th July 2009

Hey, Anne! Well, Harry Potter and Graceland were both really fun. Did you like listening to Elvis when he was really popular? xoxo Ellie

Tot: 0.21s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1088s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb