8 Days to Go .. Getting Packed .. Unpacked....Repacked..Reunpacked,,, ugh


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arkansas » Benton
September 13th 2014
Published: September 15th 2014
Edit Blog Post

So the battle of the backpack begins . Laurie has her's packed snuggely so she good to go. I on the other hand have way to much STUFF for my backpack . Unfortunately all the stuff is essential so I can't discard a thing . I totally miscalculated on the size backpack I will need. The miscalculation starts with my having to haul my CPAP w/breathing hose and power converter , which is taking up more room then expected .Also bulky are my meds..well not so much the pills themselves rather the bottles they come in. I need the pill bottles for the trip to prove to the TSA Peeps that I am not a drug smuggler . Once I arrive in France I can discard the bottles and sort out my daily allotment of pills into daily doses in small sealable snack bags

So this week I go back to the PackRat to get another larger backpack .I plan to bring in my complete list of goods and pack the new bag there to be sure it fits , If your looking to buy a slightly used Kelty 38L Osprey let me know.

They say your Camino begins the moment you decide your going. I can tell you emphatically , this is so true . I am about finished with all the planning , lists , meds , docs, clothes, and the wondering about what will happen , the unknown, the doubts and fears . We are about ready to step off that ledge and experience our "Camino Free Fall" A deeply religious "Whoa-ist" once said to me when I asked him about by desire to walk this spiritual path . For a moment he looked me the eyes then bugled out " WHOA DUDE ARE YOU FREAKING LOONY!? ( actually this is a metaphor for my self doubts ) I only know a couple "whoa-ists" none of which are religious or even spiritual .



I borrowed a saying from one of my Camino Forum brethern (Aylssa) . Fits the occasion ,

"To move, to breathe, to fly, to float, To Gain all while you give, To roam the roads of lands remote, To travel is to live. -Hans Christian Andersen



Tomorrow .... 7 days and a wakeup .. 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.287s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0537s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb