Zion National Park, Utah - Jacob's Lake, Arizona


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arizona
March 22nd 2011
Published: March 22nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

SnowSnowSnow

It was snowing in the pass East of Crescent City so turned back South by East.
Zion National Park, Utah - Jacobs Lake, Arizona
Got a good start as I have gotten in the habit of just reloading everything back into my truck when I retire at night, and having the clothes that I will change into handy. Went back on the I-15 North to Crescent city intending to cut across on Hwy 14 East and towards Bryce Canyon National Park. However when I got to Crescent City the mountains to the East had lots of snow on them and I made inquiries and found out it was snowing on Hwy 14 and a local told me to only go that way if I didn't mind driving in snow.........Well I don't mind driving in snow but not through mountain passes and down steep inclines!
So he said I could go up North to Hwy 20 and cut across but I got to thinking even if I did that it was probably snowing on the approaches to the park. Also a very strong wind was picking up and the weather man was talking about snow further north.
So I retreated back down through Toquerville, and La Verkin and got on Hwy 59 going southeast. If I couldn't go
Going south by East on Hwy 59Going south by East on Hwy 59Going south by East on Hwy 59

Going south by East on Hwy 59 through Northwest Arizona I was suprised with how scenic it was.
around the North side of the Mountains then I would go around the South side. As it turned out this wasn't such a bad deal as they had some really awesome scenery on Hwy 59 and Alternate 89 as I went South by East through Arizona.
I had planned on going to the Jacobs Lake Campground but as I approached it there was more and more snow and when I got to it at 7925 ft the campground was closed for the winter.........!
So at this point I had to stay in the Lodge at Jacobs Lake because it was either that or drive off into the public land to camp and maybe get stuck in the mud or snow.
It was a nice enough hotel and since it was the off season I got a room for $68.
So I unloaded and spent the night hoping it would not be snowing the next day and I would be stuck on the mountain till the roads cleared.
And I figured......Oh Well, guess tomorrow I can visit the North rim of the Grand Canyon....



Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Jacobs Lake InnJacobs Lake Inn
Jacobs Lake Inn

Jacob's Lake Inn 7925 feet elevation.
Loaded for bearLoaded for bear
Loaded for bear

I guess if there are any problems just reach on the back wall


22nd March 2011

grand canyon
you can travel when you say i do not mind snow , glad you are having a good time we are getting a history lesson from [the traveler]
22nd March 2011
Photo 5

4-WHEELER
4-wheeler bikes are nice Joe use to go riding on weekend I would just watch!! pretty scenery
22nd March 2011
Snow

RIDE
THERE A LOT OF TRUCKS ,GLAD TO hear you did not go in the snow!!
22nd March 2011

beautiful
that place looks really nice and cool. annette

Tot: 0.138s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 34; dbt: 0.0613s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb