Bodacious Babybacks in Mesa


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arizona
March 20th 2011
Published: March 20th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Boy howdy folks! I met my friend Dave a few years ago on an online bbq group, where we discovered that we both smoked food using a Black Diamond dual chamber smoker. We shared information, methods and techniques with each other and formed a nice friendship.

Last year during our first snowbird adventure to Arizona, Dave and his lovely wife Mare had us over to their house for a delicious dinner. And this year, during our second snowbird trip to the area, Dave went all out and smoked up some bodacious babyback ribs for yours truly on his Black Diamond.

And being a true cowboy gentleman, he grilled up a filet of salmon for my bride who does not eat red meat. Dave has raised the bar on graciousness.

And to top it off, there was a batch of frozen margaritas waiting and ready to be served upon my arrival at his homestead! From top to bottom, and side to side, everything was larrapin’!

Dave and Mare’s generous welcome extended to our sweet Shaddy, including Shad’s best friend “Chicken,” a small rubber duck that Shaddy loves to retrieve for me to toss time after time, etc.

Dave and I also share an interest in photography. We both use Paint Shop Pro for editing our digital photos, and enjoy making panorama images.

During our visit, I set up my camera in his backyard and made a few panoramas and other photos of flora and cacti.

The icing on the cake was the foil wrapped leftover ribs Dave had waiting for me when it was time to leave. This cannot be topped, and I still have a grin situated right on top of a lingering drool!

Paddy



Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement



20th March 2011

YUM!
The food looks wonderful and what a great setting. The house and yard are beautiful. I'm happy to see you are having a great trip! Mary
20th March 2011

Wow, can I come for dinner? Those ribs looked delicious and so did the salmon. Beautiful pictures too. What a life!!! Hope to talk to you again on Skype if we get a good connection. aunt Livvie
20th March 2011

ribs
Pat, I sure as hell would keep that friend at all costs!!!!!
21st March 2011

Mouth Watering Good
Sweet, Succulent, and Juicey, Partner!
21st March 2011

Food
I am drooling over all the food and drink. Once Dave said to me if I were ever in his area I could split a bottle of wine with them...but not the ribs / fish so I guess you 2 rate....ha ha ha when he reads this comment. Have not been that way yet as now I'm working on a play ... Their hospitality and back yard seems great ! Am so glad you 3 are enjoying your trip & life.....Julia & claudia

Tot: 0.318s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 93; dbt: 0.1313s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb