Day 6 of Road Trip to the Southwest - Cibeque Creek


Advertisement
Published: December 22nd 2005
Edit Blog Post

Today I went through the Globe to Show Low Scenic Drive with stop at Cibeque Creek for an unforgettable hike.

The 2 miles hike along the bank of Cibeque creek was refreshing. I was totally absorbed by the beauty of the mountain, stream, rocks, and vegetations. It wasn't easy to get there. In fact, if not because of the National Geographic guide book, I wouldn't have known about this place. The 4 mile rugged and primitive dirt road along the salt river took 30 minutes each way for my Accord to get through at the average speed of 8 miles per hour. Once I reached the creek, and after I got rid of all the self-doubts, I emerged myself into the quiet and serene mountain and stream scenary. The mountain fully embraced me as part of it. I walked, climbed and jumped my way upstream along the rocky creek bank. I tasted the sweet spring water and washed my face with it. The one and half hour hike was spiritaully enlightening. I felt that I was connected to the mountain and the mountain spoke to me. No wonder monks liked to meditate in the mountain. It was an experience that definitely worth the trouble to get here.

After the hike, continuted driving along highway US 60. As I reached 6000 feet elevation, the vegetation turned into miles and miles of ponderosa pines. Pasting Show Low, a town's fate was once detemined by a game of poker, I continued north to Holbrook in order to get back to I-40. Along the way, I saw the spectacular sun set on the highland. At Holbrook, another town that was part of the old route 66, I saw a lot of motels with neon signs. One of them, the Wigwam had rooms shaped like Indian tent (see picture).

I drove 88 miles west on I-40 and reached Flagstaff, and eventually settle at a old motel on the histroic route 66 district - Flagstaff is another route 66 town.

The hike at Cibeque creek totally shifted my perspective and allowed me to truly experience the beauty the nature. I was refreshed, connected and enlightened.



Additional photos below
Photos: 31, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

The dirt roadThe dirt road
The dirt road

The end of the 4 miles dirt road that leads to Cibeque creek.
Burned fire woods at Cibeque CreekBurned fire woods at Cibeque Creek
Burned fire woods at Cibeque Creek

Some signs of human activities at the secluded Cibeque Creek.
Stream flow measuring facilityStream flow measuring facility
Stream flow measuring facility

The only unnatural facility I saw along the cibeque creek.
Dinosaurs BoneDinosaurs Bone
Dinosaurs Bone

I think that was a tree trunk... :P


Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0515s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb