Scottsdale, Arizona


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arizona » Scottsdale
November 30th 2011
Published: November 30th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I moved to Arizona in 1990 to buy real estate. I moved there with my wife and kids from Southern California. I bought and sold about 70 or 80 homes in Arizona over about a 4 year period. I made enough money that I was finally able to start college. I finished my computer science degree and law degree and then we moved to Portland, Oregon in 2000.

On some of those homes, I joint ventured with my good friend Will. He has remained in Arizona all this time, but travels all over the world. He has visited about 52 countries and lived in four. Will married Lori in about 1999 and they live together in Scottsdale, though they also have a home in Prescott and in Mexico. They both love to travel. I stayed with them while in Arizona.

About a year ago, Will told me that homes in Arizona were finally at prices low enough to start buying again. He invited me out to visit and to discuss the buying opportunity. The small house in the below pictures is worth about $70,000 and rents for about $1000 per month. That is about 15% cash on cash, which is unheard of historically in the US market place. So he is right. But before making any decision about what to do next, I am going to compare prices and rents in Arizona with a city in California, called Merced. Off I go to California. I am also going to California to see my family and celebrate my father’s 77th birthday.

Enjoy!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.29s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 30; qc: 118; dbt: 0.1483s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb