All play and no work...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arizona » Phoenix
April 19th 2012
Published: April 28th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Standard GooferyStandard GooferyStandard Goofery

Mom likes to hold brunch ransom for a gaggle of family photos after church! We lost our marbles from the huger pains!!
...makes Whitney anything but dull.

Holy Spring Break, Batman!! Arizona (well, more accurately, Matthew) got most of my time in the States and it was much needed quality time with my love. I was able to see Grand Canyon University host two volleyball matches against Lindenwood University and watch Coach Werle in action. It was really heartwarming to watch how much his players respect and admire him and I enjoyed finally putting some faces with the names I often hear in his stories.

In addition to my fill of volleyball, he and I visited the Museum of Contemporary Art in Scottsdale (which was beyond abstract and barely enjoyable) and resorted to happy hour at RnR restaurant near the Giants spring training stadium. Hiking Squaw Peak was a treat, although I thought I might have bloody lungs by the time we reached the summit. We also had the opportunity to see Tyrone Wells in concert downtown Phoenix. He and the Crescent Ballroom venue were incredible. We had a really amazing and enjoyable evening! Countless dinner dates and afternoon naps have been compiled in my memory bank to help me endure the next couple months of distance. Holding my breath!
Gin and TyroneGin and TyroneGin and Tyrone

Matt and I enjoying pre-show gin'n'tonics at Crescent Ballroom, Phx.

I flew for a very short stint at the HB house with the family. I really only had time to hand out waffles, pet the cats, and have a quick dinner with my favorite gals before we packed up the car for our Easter festivities in Palm Desert. We had a gorgeous few days of strong sun, echoing laughter, the joys of family worship, and drool worthy food. My mom and her accomplices Aunt Jill, and Marci's mother-in-law, Paula, helped me pack on a few too many lbs. during our stay there! Egg hunts (during which Matt and I found BOTH of the golden eggs!), Easter baskets, chasing after Marci and Josh's escapee dog, lounging and smiles. It was a highlight of my vacation no doubt, reinforcing it as my favorite holiday!

Matt traveled to Chicago for a volleyball road trip, leaving me to my own devices for 3 days in Phoenix before I was supposed to fly back to Brussels. My mom saved the day with a quick Southwest flight to hang out with me in Matt's condo for a 2 night stay! We loooved our frozen margaritas at Matt's go-to Mexican joint, barely attempting to find "Bobby's
Sedona PlaydateSedona PlaydateSedona Playdate

Mom and I after a long day in Sedona, ready for the 2 hour drive back to Phoenix.
Rock" on the Camelback Mountain range as well as enjoyed a one day round trip to Sedona. We booked a "Scenic Rim" tour with the Pink Jeep Tour company and got a rather wind-blown view of the gorgeous red rock formations of Sedona. It was truly breathtaking and I absolutely cannot wait to have a chance to return!

I've come back to the Belg after 2 long and glorious weeks in Amrrrrrica and, although I was reluctant to return, I'm here for the long haul through finals in late June. My agenda includes some light teaching of gymnastics to adorable Flemish kiddos with intellectual disabilities, endless hours of research, dodging rainstorms, and attempting to get my bod in summer shape by restarting the Insanity workouts with my Canadian.

Speaking of my Canadian, Laura had some really exciting news to share with us all upon her return home for Spring Break. Not only did she get engaged, but her and Nick are expecting!! Talk about fantastic! She returned to Leuven with a giant shining rock on her left hand and an adorable baby bump to boot. Yay love! My warmest congratulations to them both! 😊

I'll be back
Pink Jeeps Tour!Pink Jeeps Tour!Pink Jeeps Tour!

2 hours in a pink open-air Jeep on a blustery day? DEAL! :)
home June 24th, just in time to turn 26! (I remember freaking out at age 24 applying to this program and thinking "I'll be 27 when I finally get my degree!!!" It's creeping up and I am so excited!)

This summer can't come soon enough!



Proost,

Whitney


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Bell Rock - SedonaBell Rock - Sedona
Bell Rock - Sedona

Breathtaking beauty!
Courthouse Rock - SedonaCourthouse Rock - Sedona
Courthouse Rock - Sedona

Mom and I could have stayed for days and days doing slow-mo 360 spins :)
Cocoooo-nino!Cocoooo-nino!
Cocoooo-nino!

Entering the National Forest in Sedona!
Poolside CanoodlingPoolside Canoodling
Poolside Canoodling

Matt and I on Easter in Palm Desert. I know, gag me, right? ;)
Seester DateSeester Date
Seester Date

A trip to Shield's Date Gardens in Indian Wells while in the desert. Mmm date shakes!
Egg Hunt Surprise!Egg Hunt Surprise!
Egg Hunt Surprise!

Matt hid some love-stuffed eggs in his condo. Swept off my feet for sure <3
Squaw Peak HikersSquaw Peak Hikers
Squaw Peak Hikers

Got our butts kicked by the climb to this summit! So tough!
Phoenix visitor!Phoenix visitor!
Phoenix visitor!

Mom and I headed straight for the margaritas when she landed in AZ! :)
Tyrone Wells ConcertTyrone Wells Concert
Tyrone Wells Concert

Matt and I saw his live at the Crescent Ballroom in downtown Phoenix. We were both really blown away by his performance and the awesome venue!
Besties!Besties!
Besties!

Us 5 reunited for burgers and beers at Slater's 50/50 Burger in Huntington Beach!


28th April 2012

stuff you forgot to mention
great entry, Whitty...just wanted to also mention how fun it was listening to our 3 daughters in the backseat singing songs from "Babes in Toyland" on the way to Palm Desert! Haha! Oh, and you also left out the part of volunteering us to sit in the rear of the Pink Jeep off road tour, the bumpiest, most spine-rattling...my $chiropractor$thanks$you$! jk. Good times <3

Tot: 0.237s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0474s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb