Arizona: Day 2 / Botanical Gardens.


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arizona » Phoenix
March 1st 2010
Published: April 21st 2010
Edit Blog Post

I'm typing this on day 3, so here's hoping I can remember everything. *fingers crossed*

To start off with, Sam's mother is AMAZING. She's so nice, and made sure I had my bus pass, knew how to get around via transit, and was just so very helpful with everything. She made sure I had a hotel room with a 'good view' too. And so instead of looking at the highway, I have a gorgeous view of the mall, fair, and mountains. :B

After settling in, Allie finally persuaded me to get off my butt and do what I had planned to do that day. took the Metro(bus)(Where another black guy hit on me. Very nice, we talked about different countries/travel, but SRSLY, is there a shortage of white girls here? LOL) to the Phoenix Zoo, and hiked up a mountain. Literally. It was a gorgeous view, but I had to continue down and behind the mountain, and hike a mile to get to the Botanical Gardens. Because, for some reason, they don't have transit going up there. D<

I met a nice friend in the form of a mother from Illinois, she was in Arizona visiting her daughter. 😊
She had an extra pass for the Gardens so I didn't have to pay. How niiiice 😊

Anywho, after getting to the Gardens, which I loved immensely, I went right for the trails.

Wildflower, Cactus, and everything else they offered. However, by the time I was almost halfway done, I realized I didn't take any pictures of videos.... LOL. So I went and did it all again. It rocked. Until I got exhausted. But it was still awesome.

Then I called a cab to get back to the hotel. Because... anybody else would've done it too! lmao

Didn't cost that much, just under 20$. And he stopped off at a CVS (Shoppers) so I could grab some Advil, since I desperately needed it by then. haha. However, he didn't take Debit. Said there weren't enough numbers, so I had to give him my last 20$

That was where ALL my troubles started, but I had no idea what was coming.

After staying in my hotel room for a few hours watching Chowder..... It's the most cracked out, drug induced show... but I'm pretty sure it's keeping me sane for being by myself. I got lonely last night, and homesick, so the idiocy was really good. :B

ANYWHO, after that, I went to grab some dinner. I walked through the Arizona Mills Mall parking lot, through the cool fair that didn't even have TEN people attending it... (lol, bad venue) to some 50's diner....

I got fish and chips, but I didn't feel well so asked them to wrap it up, so I could throw it out without feeling bad. xD
But, they don't take my debit card. they said it needed a Visa or Mastercard logo on the bottom. (which would have made it a CREDIT card... they said they accepted DEBIT!)

So I had to leave my camera with them, go to CVS, and buy something so I could get cash-back.
I went back, paid for the food I didn't even eat, tossed it, and went back to my hotel room with fruit cups and crackers and talked to my mom on Blackberry MSN. :B

And watched more Chowder. ♥ (Cartoon Network)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0335s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb