Solo Explorations


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arizona » Page
June 26th 2016
Published: June 26th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Jeanne didn't feel like going out today so after some light housekeeping this morning I left for a hike to Horseshoe Bend, a portion of the Colorado River below the dam that almost doubles back on itself. It is called an Entrenched Meander. There's one I've seen in Utah that's a little more elaborate at Gooseneck State Park. We have both been here before and we also floated down the Colorado as far as Lee's Ferry so we've seen it from both perspectives. It's about a 700 ft drop from the cliff to the river.

I used to measure the length of my hikes by mileage or kilometers but as the hikes have become shorter I find that distance alone is not an adequate metric. I have to account for not only distance but also the amount of elevation gain/loss as well. So I have decided to classify my hikes according to the number of times people ask me if I'm all right, do I have enough water, can I carry your pack/camera/water etc. The distance from the trailhead to the overlook is described as 1 1/2 miles round trip, which I believe to be a bald faced lie. Today's hike was rated at four persons.

I next descended to a scenic overlook from which you can view the dam head on. There were railings but they were so hot I should have taken mechanics gloves with me. I got a nice picture. This was a zero person hike.

I had intended to take a ranger hike to what is referred to as The Hanging Gardens at 1830 this evening but my legs and knees hurt.

Tomorrow is a travel day. We drive to Cedar City, Utah for the Shakespearean Festival. We will see The Three Musketeers, Henry V, and Much Ado About Nothing. We have been attending the Festival for about 15 years but have missed the last two seasons. It will be good to be back.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.308s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1319s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb