Longest Drive Ever!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arizona » Mesa
April 11th 2015
Published: April 12th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Adrian:

It all started around 10:30ish PM on 4/10/2015. I took out my contacts ready to jump into bed. Christopher comes rushing into the room saying "let's go now." I don't take him seriously and proceed to get ready for bed. Christopher walks out of the room and because he is SO LOUD with a carrying voice in our house, I hear him telling our grandparents we are leaving tonight. I then brace myself for what is now known as the most excruciating, boring, long, never ending drive I will ever experience. We get in the car and Christopher is extremely hyped up. I lay my head down and fall asleep. 4ish hours go by and Christopher says we just got to Odessa. What was supposed to be a 6 hour drive somehow turned into a 4.5 hour drive. Thank goodness I was not awake to experience him driving like a bat out of hell. We stopped to fill up our tank and I took over the driving. Christopher tried to get some sleep and there is only one thing in the entire universe that can put me at ease and focused; Britney Spears's music. I have a mini concert and somewhere outside of El Paso, the sun starts to rise and I see these tall hills that looked like mountains from a distance. It was a stunning sight as I have never been out West or seen a desert before. I was mesmerized and couldn't help but enjoy the view and think to myself how blessed I am to be experiencing this with my soul mate. 5 minutes go by and I am over it. Sand, hills, dry air, more sand, more hills.... and more sand. Where is the grass?! Finally we get to El Paso. We stop of McDonald's to have a nutritious breakfast and are in a bit of a culture shock. Keep in mind the Mexico border is right on the other side of the hills, so you can imagine how nervous we were seeing border patrol all over the place. I understand El Paso is very close to Mexico, but does everything have to be in Spanish? If there wasn't that man stick figure on the bathroom door I wouldn't have known which bathroom to go to (I now know caballeros means men). Christopher has taken over the driving and there really isn't much to say. Guess what we saw the entire time? Hills, sand, sand, sand, hills... and more sand. We tried playing the ABC game to keep us entertained, but there was nothing displayed! It took over an hour to get it done. Speaking of seeing nothing but sand, do people even live in New Mexico or Arizona? Like.. where are the houses? Where's Wal-Mart? How do you even live, are y'all okay? -Adrian

Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0435s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb