Preparations--photo printer and other stuff


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arizona » Mesa
June 20th 2008
Published: June 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Peru FamilyPeru FamilyPeru Family

Here's a family snapshot I gave to a family in Peru.
Howdy. Another boring post while we're still in the US. The main reason for these posts is to make sure that I know how to use this blog before we go. Something tells me that once we get to Mozambique I'll be uploading on a cruddy connection and won't want to be figuring out how to create blog posts in that environment.

Right now I'm making preparations to print photos for some of the people we're working with. I've purchased a Epson Picture Mate Dash 260, which is a cool little photo editor/printer that you can use to print 4x6 photos directly from your camera. It has a battery pack, but you've got to be able to recharge it. Hmm, reasonably sure I don't want to accidentally fry it with Mozambican 240V electricity. Need to look into that.
Info: http://www.epson.com/cgi-bin/Store/consumer/consDetail.jsp?BV_UseBVCookie=yes&oid=63069797

I'm trying to find out whether there's a computer in the place where we're staying, and if not, what the logistics are relating to the local internet cafe. I got the impression from a previous Care For Life blogger that there's a computer in the house, but it wasn't clear. I'm trying to make all my technical preparations with
Another Peru familyAnother Peru familyAnother Peru family

Another family snapshot from Peru.
plenty of time to spare. Finding a photo printer in Cusco, Peru was a fun adventure, to be sure, but something tells me that I'm not going to be able to head down to the local computer store in Mozambique.

I'm really stoked about the possibility of offering photos to the families and kids in Mozambique. When we did that in Peru, people went absolutely nuts for family photos because of course they have no way of ever having one otherwise. I'm sure that's even more the case in Mozambique. From a selfish perspective, it's also a nice way to get pictures of locals without being, or at least feeling like, an insensitive North American ("Hey! A really pathetic looking person! Quick, take a picture!") I'm going to post a couple Peru photos to make sure I know how to upload pictures.

BD

Advertisement



Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0671s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb