Day 5: Destination Tucson/Green Valley, AZ


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arizona » Green Valley
January 26th 2008
Published: January 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The kitties........I do not think that they slept all night but they were pretty quiet for the most part. At first they were crying and scratching at the door, but then settled down. I had to use the facilities and every time I went in, they were ready to escape. We at least got some sleep w/o out the kitty gymnastics!!!! I let them out about 6 am and they were very happy.

As we were getting ready to vacate the room, we noticed that Misty was really crying a lot. Then we realized that Jazzy was NOT around. I got out the "treats" which always brings Jazzy out! Nothing. All we could imagine is that she slipped out while we were putting things in the truck. Usually if the girls slip out, they never go far b/c they are such wimpy little felines. So here we are, all ready to go, but with one missing cat. I go out with the treats, shaking the container to entice Jazzy. Nada. I walk around the whole hotel area searching and searching while Mike is driving around the area also on the lookout for Jazzy. I go back into the room and take the beds apart thinking perhaps that she escaped under the bed even though it was a closed box that held the bed. Nope. I am just frantic thinking that some animal surely must have gotten her. Mike and I get back together to decide on a new plan. We decide that she MUST be in the room still. We search again. The low dresser had 2 upper drawers and Jazzy was hunkered down in the space below the drawers. Needless to say, we were relieved to have her back. Can you imagine if we had left and then someone else checked into that room only to have a cat jump out?????? Well, Jazzy caused me a lot of stress today!

To make matters worse, after we got on the road for about 30 minutes or so, I realized that I was missing my MP3 player which held about four novels that I had not heard yet. Not to mention the cost of replacing the MP3. So I call the hotel thinking "No way would anyone say s/he found it. S/he would keep it!" What a lucky day for me! One of the maids found it and had it for me. Although Mike was not happy about having to turn around, he knew that he would have to get me another one in the end!!!! He does not understand my need for all my electronic peripherals!!! I just have to be better about keeping track of everything (cell phone, laptop, air card, camera, chargers and all the accompanying cords). Thank goodness Mike is so patient with me!

Other than all that excitement, we had a shorter drive--some 200 miles versus 500+! We are now in Green Valley, AZ staying again at a Best Western (another nice room--thanks, Sue and Art for suggesting BWs!). We did some laundry, rearranged some stuff in the truck and repacked clothing into one bag for the ferry. We hope to leave here about 6 am tomorrow, get over the border in a reasonable amount of time in Nogales and then drive the mainland to Topolobampo where we embark! Will be a long day. So we will be out of touch wirelessly and cell-wise until we get to los Barriles. I may be able to get a signal w/ my air card but that will be iffy, I think.

Will be in touch! No exciting photos either b/c it is just brown and cactus-y!



Advertisement



27th January 2008

nightmare scenario
wow.. how did Jazzy get into that small space ... I was stressed out just reading about it.. will catch up when you are "home in sun" and back on line.... have a good trip....xxxxx
27th January 2008

Lucky you!
Wow, and we say the Sweeneys have no luck!!!! Finding the cat was one thing, getting your mp3 player was even better. As I told you on the phone, Bullhead, AZ, is something else. It is across the river from Laughlin. We were going to go across and then thought better of it! Ok. Have a safe truck and boat trip. I will miss you! Sue

Tot: 0.167s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0792s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb