The Grand Canyon


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arizona » Grand Canyon
July 23rd 2015
Published: July 31st 2015
Edit Blog Post

The Grand Canyon
Leaving Las Vegas this morning was really hard. Not because of a deep attachment to the city but because I was slightly hungover and very tired after last night. The front desk called me at 8:50 to remind me that I was due to check out at 10am. I hadn't packed and after accidentally falling asleep after the phone call I had 5 minutes to get dressed and get out! The 6 lane each way roads were surprisingly empty at 10am and getting out of the city was much easier than finding out hotel on the way in. I stopped for fuel and headed south and east towards Arizona. I didn't know I was going to pass Hoover Dam but when I saw the signs I thought that I had to stop just to see it. I think I rocked up at the same time as at least fifteen tour busses. I took a few photos and then escaped quickly back to the road.After a few hours of driving I reached my hotel and checked in, before carrying on to the canyon itself. I was staying around 25 miles away so by the time I got there it was late afternoon and the sun was getting low in the sky. I was absolutely stunned by the beauty of the Grand Canyon. It's huge, pictures really can't capture to scale of it and there are so many colours! After wandering along the rim trail for a while, I took myself off the path a little and sat on the edge of the canyon on a rock. I just sat for a good hour watching the light change on the canyon walls, it felt like a really special moment. As the sun almost set I drove back to my hotel and picked up a bite to eat to take with me... I'd last had a meal the day before with Becky! Oops! I really have changed haha!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0596s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb