Crazy Jug Point, N. Kaibab N Forest, Jacob Lake, Arizona


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arizona » Grand Canyon
October 31st 2018
Published: October 31st 2018
Edit Blog Post

FS 22FS 22FS 22

outside of Fredonia BLM
I came from Fredonia, Arizona on US 89A and quickly turned South on the paved road that was BLM on FS 22. After about 20 miles of the BLM paved road the North Kaibab FS 22 turned into a scenic dirt road with small canyons with trees.

Forest Service 22 is usually well maintained all the way from Fredonia to the paved AZ Hwy 67. Driving up and around on this good dirt road was half the fun. I passed the FS outpost of Big Springs where I think they rent out secluded cabins.

I turned South on FS 425 for about twenty miles on a fair dirt road to FS 292. (FS 425 turns East on a beautiful route, but is a serious four wheel drive.)

I had a serious one lane uphill for about two miles on FS 292 then at the top of the hill FS 292 split to FS 292A Westbound, and FS 292B Southbound to Crazy Jug parking by Crazy Jug Canyon by the Crazy Jug Point short trailhead.

Now the Kaibab N Forest always had free and open camping at their scenic overlooks by the Grand Canyon, North Rim. Somehow in
FS 22FS 22FS 22

outside of Fredonia BLM
2016 they got a burr stuck somewhere and put up seven "no camping" signs at Crazy Jug parking; where I had to find a nearby emergency camp. In 2017 the Kaibab got things right and they removed all the "no camping" signs at Crazy Jug parking except the sign at the trail head to Crazy Jug Point. That is reasonable and fine with me.

Crazy Jug canyon was formed by an extinct geologic fault line; and runs very close to Crazy Jug parking and by Crazy Jug Point. It is a short walk downhill from parking to Crazy Jug Point; but its best to bring drinking water. I would spend hours at the point enjoying the great view of the Grand Canyon and Crazy Jug Canyon. I would return to the point a number of times every day and just before sunset. My dinner would cook on its own at a low heat setting.

Night was very cool and nice as I went to bed under my favorite quilt.



The next morning I started out with a nice coffee break. Then I walked out to Crazy Jug Point for my final fifteen minute break.
FS 22FS 22FS 22

outside of Fredonia BLM

Then I drove off to find a new camp in the Kaibab. Driving back the ten miles of FS 425 I saw a neat Kaibab Squirrel crossing the road. These squirrels are unique to the North Kaibab Plateau cuz they evolved seperately here and can not cross the low desert to other forests to interbreed.

Then I drove the remaining fifteen mile SE on FS 22 seeing some wildlife on the way.

When I reached the paved Arizona Hwy 67 I had three choices. First is South on AZ 67 to the Grand Canyon N Park overlooks generally following slow moving large campers. (Naaahhhh.) Second choice is Eastbound on FS 610 to what they call the "East Rim" overlooking Marble Canyon of the Colorado River. (Been there, done that.) I picked the third option of driving AZ 67 Northbound across nice meadows to Jacob Lake, Arizona and find something new there.

I drove to the Forest Service headquarters in Jacob Lake, Utah but did not go inside. I just checked out their signs outside. I back-tracted about a half mile Southbound on AZ67 and found the peaceful FS 634 in the nice large Ponderosa Pines. I needed
FS 22FS 22FS 22

North Kaibab N Forest
a short day for a change of pace. There was a horse riding contractor there and a few times they would take horse riding tourists by my camp, but across the Forest Service road.

I used my propane stove (legal even with fire restrictions) to cook myself a good dinner then enjoyed the evening with a cold rum drink or two. At night I could hear the sounds of the horses from far away that gave me a peaceful feeling as I went to sleep.

I started the next morning with a coffee break. This would be another long day so I had to scoot. I back tracked to Jacob Lake then turned Eastbound on US Hwy 89A and downhill to get off the Kaibab Plateau. I made a brief sidetrack on FS 225 then back downhill on the paved highway.

Going downhill on US 89A the trees were gone; but I got to a scenic overlook with good views below the plateau including the Vermillian Cliffs. After a short while I found a nearby unmarked dirt trail to the isolated "Walters Overlook". I hung out there for a while and had a cold non-alcoholic drink.
FS 22FS 22FS 22

Big Springs N Forest outpost

Then I drove down the steep section to get off the Kaibab Plateau. Near the bottom I departed from the North Kaibab N Forest and entered the BLM (Bureau of Land Management).

completed


Additional photos below
Photos: 132, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

FS 22FS 22
FS 22

Big Springs N Forest outpost
FS 22FS 22
FS 22

Big Springs N Forest outpost
FS 22FS 22
FS 22

FS 425 to right
FS 425FS 425
FS 425

abandoned coral near FS 292
FS 425FS 425
FS 425

abandoned coral near FS 292
end FS 425end FS 425
end FS 425

start FS 292
FS 292c (left) is bad four wheel drive uphill to Crazy Jug parkingFS 292c (left) is bad four wheel drive uphill to Crazy Jug parking
FS 292c (left) is bad four wheel drive uphill to Crazy Jug parking

bad four wheel drive uphill to Crazy Jug parking


Tot: 0.229s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 13; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1179s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb