The grand canyon


Advertisement
Published: June 15th 2012
Edit Blog Post

It is 6 hours from Tucson to the grand canyon, a drive that takes you through different altitudes, temperature and weather conditions, all to go see what is essentially a very big hole.



On the way up we stopped in Sedona better know as red rock country. There will be no prizes for guessing why it is called that. It was roughly 3-4 hours into our drive that we stopped there for lunch. I'm so glad we did, I understood it was called red rock country so I expected red, but honestly I expected a murky red-brown. What I got was vibrant beautiful mountains, their colour is from the clay in the area. (I'm sure our house was built on clay soil but it didn't look anything like this) the cafe was on top of a hill, which gave us amazing panoramic views of the area. The food was pretty good as well, it was actually a relatively healthy cafe for once in Arizona. After this stop we headed further north towards flagstaff the last place before the grand canyon but still about an hour and a half from it. It was where we would be sleeping later after visiting the canyon.



The grand canyon was incredibly busy, as unbeknownst to me at the time it was memorial day weekend. So after queuing and struggling for about 30 minutes we were finally parked and walking to the south rim.



I wasn't sure what I expected, but somehow I was still awe struck by the canyon. You can literally walk and climb around it, nothing between you and a drop that would definitely kill you. With some American parents literally holding their kids by the arms and letting them swing over the edge. Stupidity thy name is vacationing Americans.



What surprised me most about the canyon are the colours, you expect a big hole but you don't expect all wildlife, the greenery. I always pictured the canyon to be dusty for lack of a better term. I didn't expect giant squirrels, by giant I mean at least twice the size of a normal squirrel. The size of the canyon meant that despite the massive crowds if you ventured away from the main points of view, it was possible to have solitude. Where I just sat on my own and looked out into the canyon. The sky was so blue and cloudless, it was relaxing. I have never really been one for nature as a few of my friends can attest from disastrous camping trips, but the grand canyon is a place where you can feel small yet so big at the same time.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0494s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb