Friday the 13th


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arizona » Eloy
March 13th 2020
Published: March 22nd 2020
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


blog 03-13-20 Friday the 13th!!!

It's moving day but I didn't have to be out of my site until noon so I got up early and went to another trail I hadn't hit before. This trail went all the way up to the top of the peak but I was just going as far as I felt able, I wanted to get as high a vantage point of the park and surrounding area as I could. Watson was a great trooper and stopped and held still so I could take a picture now and again. The trails are good but full of loose stones which makes going up not so bad but coming down a different story. I had my walking stick for extra support and I took my time and all was well. The sun kept going in and out so sometimes I waited for a patch of flowers to be in sun but the different lighting gave a different look to the scene.

We said our good-bys to the kids and headed home to get things packed up. I have loved the beauty of this park and the distance between campers, gives you breathing room. The only negative was interstate 10 was at the base of the mountain along with 2 sets of railroad tracks. They were all far enough away that the noise was very minimal but I could see civilation too close for me. They ran freight trails all night long in both directions but again the noise was not bad. I just couldn't get over the amount of trains that run out here.

I headed east for the first time on this trip, a preview of what will come. Benson was the destination and it was only about 1 1/2 hrs away. The traffic was tolorable, just one slow down, and soon I was at my new home, an Escapees CO-OP. It seems that people lease their site for a length of time, 6 mo, 1 yr or life so they are all part "owners" of the campground. You can get a site with electric and water and sewer if they have one available, if not you wait in the holding area until you get lucky. The holding area is nothing but a paved parking lot with lines and numbers just big enough for a camper and car. No services available except a restroom. Well I wanted to try boon=docking or dry camping so for $10.00 a night I thought I'd try it for 3 nights. I was able to watch a little tv and do most other things so I'll see how long the batteries last. There is not enough power for the microwave or the airconditioner but everything else runs just fine. I did put the solar charger on this afternoon and it seemed to be working, so far so good.

I had a relaxing afternoon and went to bed early, I was really tired.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0584s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb