Ensconced in Casa Grande


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Arizona » Casa Grande
January 23rd 2013
Published: January 23rd 2013
Edit Blog Post

Ensconced in Casa Grande



It has been a little over a month since my last update, back when we were in Yuma for most of the month of December.

It was the day after Christmas that we hitched up and headed out of Country Roads for Palm Creek Golf and RV Resort in Casa Grande, AZ. No sooner than we arrived at Palm Creek, winter was close behind. After the first week of getting acclimated, we had several nights of below freezing temps, and cold days too.

Both of my girls have been gussied up and groomed since we arrived. I, myself, have been shorn by my sweet bride, otherwise known as TB (my Trail Boss).

TB and I went to a line dancing class the other day. Nerve pain in my left foot and lower back prevents me from line dancing, pickle ball, tennis and other agility related activities. I’m able to compete pretty well in lawn bowling and shuffleboard, neither of which requires peripatetic agility.

In late December, we enjoyed a visit from the “kids;” Elaine and Jean-Marie traveled by Amtrak from Houston to Tucson where they rented a car and drove to Casa Grande for a few nights. We had a wonderful visit with them, including a tour of the Casa Grande Ruins. Little Minnie got to go! And now, it is like a pleasant dream; memory.

TB is very active in water aerobics, wood carving and lawn bowling. Plus, she is the major care taker of little Minnie. But hey; I don’t just go with the flow. Why, I’m in charge of toddy time in the late afternoon and cooking on the Weber Q grill. That must count for some’um?

To date, I’ve won two toddy glass trophies at lawn bowling. I’ve also created a website for the Palm Creek Lawn Bowling Club. Check it out at www.pclbclub.weebly.com

Last week, the Lawn Bowling Club had pot luck after a mixed doubles tournament, and I grilled some baby back pork ribs on the Weber Q for the event.

We will be here at Palm Creek until late March. Fun times ahead. And maybe another jitney champion toddy glass or two?


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



23rd January 2013

Rules of the game
aw, that "unique combination of athletic and culinary ability" is surely an asset at RV Resorts! And pretty darn significant in all other areas of fine living. The lawn bowling website is very impressive - even with all those rules!!! Two fingers up, Skip!
23rd January 2013

Reply
Hi Paddy, It was good to hear from you. We saw winter was a wee bit on the chilly side in the SW. We want to share the cool winter goodness! Not much new in this neck of the woods. Taking T to the UW today for a bone consultation. I suspect surgery is in his future. He's in quite a bit of pain - walking very difficult. Be well and enjoy the warmth now that it has arrived...and hopefully will stay.
23rd January 2013

Nice
Looks like good times Paddy! Keep taking pictures...their great.
25th January 2013

Good to hear from you, Paddy. I have been wondering about you guys and hoping it is warmer where you are then here. It hasn't been quite as cold here as back in G.J. where they are having below 0 temps. I am having a hard time adjusting to the foggy, overcast days and ready for some sunshine. Beautiful pictures. Thanks for sharing. Livvie

Tot: 0.288s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 15; qc: 83; dbt: 0.1139s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb