Hanging in Fairbanks


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alaska
June 30th 2012
Published: July 1st 2012
Edit Blog Post

So today was a beautiful warm day around 26 degrees. We are staying in our suite here in Fairbanks again tonight. We had a relaxing morning, did our laundry here at the hotel first thing, I sent off a few post cards, then headed out for short ride a few blocks in either direction. It was nice not having to pack up and head out with all our gear. Instead we headed out in jeans and t-shirts helmetless as the law only requires 18 and younger to wear them. We were only headed up the road to the Harley shop which was also a dealer for Honda, victory, BMW and maybe even more?? We needed to get our souvenirs from the farthest north outpost. Just that and some gas and another quick car wash. (bike really needs a hand wash with some serious scrubbing) We had hit The Fred Meyer the night before for some supplies and bought stuff to make our own lunch. Came back to the room to eat and have a few beers, then we caught the trolley bus that picks up here and hits a few local attractions so that you can jump on and off the bus where you like. We cruised around downtown near the river and isome shops. Got back onto the bus and went to the fountainhead antique auto museum. It was really cool, lots of super old cars and clothing to go with. A lot of the woman's dresses were sooooo nice I would love to wear some of them still today. Mostly older folks seemed to use this bus. It operates between a few hotels and these attractions also with stops at the university of Alaska, and even The Fred Meyer up the road

We are back at the room now having a few more beers and packing up with plans to head out early for our next scenic ride.

I wanted to mention, I know I've gotten some messages from some of you guys, but unfortunately with my phone I don't get to read much of them except for the first few words or sentence! Not sure why it's like that, but I'm disappointed, and sorry for not responding. I just don't know what your saying! Lol. Also typing this is frustrating enough for me, cause as I said before it doesn't type out well for me to see and check over either.

Oh I was also thinking about my ride coming up. I found along the highway in the Yukon there was a ton of these purple flowers lining much of the way which was very pretty, and broke up the greenery and what not. I will add a picture of what they look like.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



2nd July 2012

Loving this blog !!!
All caught up on your blog. Very cool that you're taking the time each night (tired I'm sure) to be typing this all up for us. Awesome pics! Glad to hear you're having a great time !!!!

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0409s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb