Alaksa - two years late


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alaska
March 1st 2011
Published: March 1st 2011
Edit Blog Post

Dear readers, I know I haven't updated much since, well, a few years? But that doesn't mean ya girl has been sitting on the couch all that time! My usual February 'get me the fuck outta here' 'tude has reared its nasty head and I flung myself onto a travel-bug infested mattress (aka, my laptop before I go to sleep LOL).
In August 2009, my mom and her business associates took an Alaskan cruise. We like it so much that we took the exact same Holland America cruise the next year. You believe that? We're weird, but happy.
Here's what happened. (I spent like 5 minutes that I'll never get back trying to upload photos. Ass of a website messed them up/didn't save them so whatever. I have them on Facebook, so all is not lost.)

Seattle:
Few days in the beautiful city of Seattle.
2009: The night before the flight I had this deliciously deceiving chicken salad from Wendy's. It started as soon as the food hit my throat. Stabbing pain. I guess it affected my lady cycle. Ugh I don't want to talk about it. I was just in pain for like 2 days until I pooped. TMI!!!! The zoo was fun. Watched Julie and Julia (Meryl Streep! <3) and 'The Goods' (it sucked big ones). Blah, blah, blah fish market. No monorail riding this time though. OH I forgot I wrote about my Pacific NW adventures on this here SOB. Just read that. It's basically the same but no Space Needle or Monorail or Duck Tour. What!? My stomach hurt!

2010: Felt better than last year AND I got to meet and have dinner with the mayor of Seattle's wife. She is so cool! (Friend of mom's friend. Networking is so cool!) Got drunk on like 4 margarz one afternoon at this Mexican place we go to. Went to the movie theatre across the mall and saw "Dinner for Schmucks". It wasn't funny even when I had 4 MARGARITAS. FOUR. I don't think we dilly-dallied much this trip. Off to the boat!

Juneau:
2009: Nature walk. Saw Sarah Palin's old house. Saw some eagles and berries and plant life. and then FLOATPLANE! SO COOL! You guys gotta go on one of these things if you ever do anything else ever again in your life. AMAZING.
2010: Bike ride and beer tasting. I guess it was the lack of exercise but I had like 2 sample sizes of beer and SHOO. Everyone else went back on to ship Westerdam? Amsterdam? I don't know what dam ship it was. But I was off in a search for a post card for my "roommates" and "friends" - i really just wanted to send them to my now-boyfriend Nick, but we weren't dating at the time, so ya know. But I walked in a circle of gift shops and didn't find a damn thing. Just giggles to myself in the street that afternoon. LOL I'm lucky I made it back to the ship in time.

Glaciers:
Pictures say more than words sometimes. And the sounds they made were even cooler 😊

Sitka:
2009: Family and friends abandoned my for the day so I went kayaking alone. Got rained on and had to wear embarrassing gigantic yellow pants.
2010: Famly and friends went kayaking without me. They wore the gross pants this time ha ha! I took a walking tour around the town. Sitka is LAME. Joke's on me I guess.

Ketchikan:
2009: Ziplining! This was actually a lot of fun. I wish I had focused more on the scenery instead of staring straight ahead to make sure I braked in time. The potato sack slide was a lot of fun, too. WHOO!
2010: Lumberjack show. I've heard some bad jokes in my day, but good lord. At least two of them were cute. And our 'team' won so you tell me.

Victoria:
Both years they give you like 4 hours to do whatever. We've stayed on the boat the whole time each year. The Crow's Nest is usually empty, so we dominate in trivia for the time being.

The ships:
2009: Pretty sure this was the Westerdam. DJ Jazzy and Joel Mason (Elton John tribute artist) were there from back in 2006! So cool! We had a good time I suppose. Don't we always?

2010: Rotterdam! Right? I can't remember. Cruise Director Anthony (?) was cool. We ruled the school at trivia thanks to Charlie. Bloody Marys are gross. Crow's nest and Explorer's Lounge were separated - NOT COOL.

Again, I have to apologize for my lack of details and class. But that's life, so LOVE ME.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.238s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0428s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb