from chitina to fairbanks


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alaska
August 6th 2009
Published: August 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

headed out of chitina toward fairbanks and the tanana valley fair. passing thru hatcher pass, talkeetna again, denali and the stampede road which is where the movie "into the wild" was partially filmed. i did not go the 27 miles one way to reach the "bus" for the road was very bad and smoke from numerous fires was literally choking. there's not many places you can go to escape the smoke....470 fires currently burning across the state. it finally cleared up for a day at the fair on saturday. i enjoyed it very much especially the dog pulling contest. there was all kinds of local music and real alaskan arts & crafts.


Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

should  I  or shouldn't   I   ??should  I  or shouldn't   I   ??
should I or shouldn't I ??

i did and the last 10 feet were over my bumper....i punched it and got across but didn't sleep good all night wondering if i'll get back. it was the deepest i've ever been in and won't do it again.
originally the road that so many gold seekers "stampeded" down.originally the road that so many gold seekers "stampeded" down.
originally the road that so many gold seekers "stampeded" down.

also the road the guy from "into the wild" was dropped off at before finding the bus. it is 27 miles to the bus and no i didn't get that far.


11th August 2009

Great pics as always! ParaGliding would have been fun, did you try it? I'm glad to hear you did cross that little stream, if I was with you there would have been no question. When the ice breaks, I'll be waiting for my 33%.
12th August 2009

should i or shouldn't i????
I don't blame you!!! scary!!! Did u have to drive back??? or find another exit???
13th August 2009

Glass
The lake photos are really great! I'd love to land a seaplane on that. How was the fishing in the area?

Tot: 0.163s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 66; dbt: 0.0728s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb