Glacier Bay


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alaska
August 30th 2018
Published: August 30th 2018
Edit Blog Post

I woke up this morning and I went out on the deck while the rest of the gang slept in. This was to be our day in Glacier Bay. I grabbed a coffee and went out on the back deck and it was so foggy I cold hardly see 10 feet in front of me. As I was sitting there, I turned and looked the other way and I began to see small pieces of ice floating in the water beside ship. Within minutes, the sun started to peek through the fog and very shortly afterwards there was blue sky and you could see the shoreline very clearly. I quickly went down to our state room two rouse the crowd and get them to come up on deck as the scenery going by was absolutely gorgeous. We quickly ate breakfast, then took our cameras out onto the top deck to take photographs of the glaciers. The ship got very close and stopped moving for almost an hour so everyone could get those special shots. We even saw the glacier “calving” on two occasions. Grandma managed to video one of those and it was fun looking at it later. You could hear the ice cracking.

After lunch we spent a couple of hours in the pool again. Took some rest time before dinner then attended the Main Stage performance tonight. It was a musical presentation of all the number billboard hits from 1957 to present day. Fabulous show!

We were in bed shortly afterward. We can sleep in tomorrow as we don't get into Ketchikan till 10:00!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0639s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb