Road Trip Aug 13 – Valdez


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alaska » Valdez
August 15th 2012
Published: August 19th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Today in Valdez I conquered a first – Kayaking. We purchased a ½ day tour from AnadyrSea Kayaking & Hiking. The tour took us kayaking across the Valdez Glacier lake between large icebergs and ice caves. We kayaked to the face of a glacier were we hiked up it and viewed multiple glacier streams and crevasses. The tour guide headed us to the face of a glacier where we got to hike and view multiple glacial streams and caverns along with having lunch. Next we kayaked to through multiple ice caves and got some great pictures along with being dripped on by cold water. Wait let me re-phrase that; we got dripped on by some very very very cold glacial water.



Overall I give the tour a 10 out of 10 because I managed to survive, not tip over the kayak, my partner was a good an excellent job steering and taught me how to and the views were spectacular. I will let the few pictures below give you a glimpse. The full set of pictures will be posted when I get back home.



Next stop Talkeetna for a rest stop before heading to Denali.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0622s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb