Alaska Update Tuesday, Sept. 18


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alaska » Seward
September 18th 2012
Published: September 19th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Included at least a few of the pictures today. I hiked to Exit Glacier even though it was raining. I was just going to go to the Outwash in front of the glacier but then could not keep from going the extra distance to the viewpoint right at the Glacier. I stopped at taking the 8 miles all the way up. It was a great hike and beautiful to stand there even in the rain and listen to the water rushing about and just enjoy the spectacle. The trails were outlined well and at least periodically I was reminded there were other people out and about amidst the trails. Afterward I investigated some other park like areas but the glacier hike was the highlight of the day. There's quite a bit already closed. Even the National Park Visitor Center was closed for the season. There are other things about Seward I'll elaborate on when I get to blogging the full day and with more pictures. It's a quaint little town. Worth the visit for sure!!

I am going to head on to Homer tomorrow. The storm wasn't very bad at all and the second part is actually going to focus
Trail was quite interestingTrail was quite interestingTrail was quite interesting

These stairs were unique
on Anchorage area which is north of where I'll be traveling. I'll keep an eye out for creeks or other waterways close to the brink given all the rain but it definitely seems better than what the weather was predicted before. I'll do the Sea Life Center here in Seward before I leave for Homer and then it's only 3-4 hours to Homer from here and supposed to be very scenic. I'm expecting it will be raining the entire way so will leave plenty of time to accommodate that and any delays.

I'll be in Homer two nights for sure - maybe a third depending on what's all open there.

A bit of rain (even lots of it) is not spoiling things up here. I haven't melted yet 😉 Rain gear and boots are keeping me dry. Hope all are well!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Did not meet this guy...Did not meet this guy...
Did not meet this guy...

...he was a display at the Seward Chamber of Commerce visitor center.


19th September 2012
Did not meet this guy...

Bear!
And I hope you don't meet his cousin who might still be upset about this fella's fate :-)

Tot: 0.138s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.1043s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb