Alaska Update Monday, Sept. 17


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alaska » Seward
September 17th 2012
Published: September 18th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Just letting folks know I arrived in Seward safe and sound and planning to be here two nights. The drive was absolutely gorgeous albeit a bit long from Fairbanks - otherwise uneventful as in no problems. Actually had sun off and on all the way here. On arrival here they told me national weather service had now put out another wind/rain warning for the area covering tonight and possibly two days which includes potential flooding due to how saturated everything is already from the recent rains. I have a view of the Bay from the room so it'll be pretty to watch if it turns out too ugly to even go out. Hiking might be out but there's other things so we'll see. Have to expect unknown weather this time of year and I'm so grateful for all the decent weather thus far, cannot complain at all. Looks like Anchorage might get rain/snow mix tonight so who knows...lol. I'll take it as it comes. It's one of the reasons I didn't make reservations from here forward. I'll travel as I can and where it makes most sense. Expecting to go to Homer Wednesday but we'll see. Homer has the same warning though looks like Homer will clear up later in week so might work out fine. Will post again Tuesday night with my plan for Wednesday based on more recent reports of weather come that time. Meanwhile, I'll be enjoying a couple of days here in Seward. It's beautiful in a totally different way than elsewhere in Alaska. Always something new and enticing 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0336s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1012.9kb