HOORAY!!!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alaska » Juneau
June 22nd 2010
Published: June 22nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Don't have a lot of time for this update, but I was so excited to hear that my sound was fixed that I had to post something!! John, our sound tech, is a miracle worker and hooked me up so that I can actually hear my voice coming through the monitors!!!! My voice is saved!

Tonight's show is You've Got A Friend, which is all my Carole King and James Taylor songs rolled into an hour show. However, since we don't disembark till 9pm tonight, I'm afraid that only a few people will show up. In my experience, the longer we are in port, the more tired the passengers get, thus sending them to bed earlier. No worries though. I have met about 6-8 people who have been to both my shows so far, and I'd put money on them stopping by again tonight.

Juneau was great! It has this cozy, small town feel with lots of shops for nic-nacs, but then in the background there are these huge gorgeous mountains with trees that make up five shades of green all the way up. Very cool! I didn't have a lot of time off the ship, but I did make time to stop by the Alaska Fudge Co. which is this little shop right in town that has fudge (duh.) and cookies and caramels and chocolates and ice cream and cashew milk chocolate turtles (bought three, ate two)!!! You can smell the heavenly aroma from a full block away, and once you're inside, time slows down as you witness the wonderful man carving out the twenty-pound slab of fudge right in front of your face....I cried. And then I ate. It was magical.

Tomorrow is a sea day, but luckily we'll be sailing right next to a bunch of glaciers, so I'm looking forward to taking some pictures and enjoying the outdoors. The temperature here is very much like Seattle: 50s-60s with a slight breeze and heavy clouds, although the sun did show it's face for a good half hour in the afternoon, which was a welcome surprise.

On a side note, Portugal scored 7 goals against North Korea in the World Cup.....just thought you'd want to know that 😊

Talk again soon! BYE!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0422s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb