Gustavus in Winter


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alaska » Gustavus
February 15th 2009
Published: February 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Strawberry on the roadStrawberry on the roadStrawberry on the road

I was walking down the road and a friend stops and hands me a chocolate covered strawberry then drives off...
“What is it like in Alaska?” I was watching the lighting flash across the Buenos Aires night sky as we sat on a covered terrace in Palarmo last weekend. My Argentinean friends Javier and Griselda were curious... I described a landscape so different... cold, snow, very few houses, a town were just about everyone knows each other. They made me promise to write a blog about it... this place I call home.

There's the land and there's the people. Chip met me at the airport. He had been over to the house the day before and got the heat going so I came back to a nice warm house. Kim and Wayne left me their car in case mine didn't start, but we attached the battery cables and my old truck started right up. I stopped at the post office and at our one little grocery store and chatted with folks happy to see me back and curious about Argentina. I raved about the friendly people, beautiful landscapes and great hiking. Lots of interest so I've committed to a slide show in a couple weeks. Dena had arranged to have the driveway cleared of snow - it had taken a 'loader' to get it all but was worth it - I was able to just back up to the door to unload all the groceries I'd purchased in Juneau. Chip came over in the afternoon and we got the water pump working so the house is fully functional after three months without heat.

The landscape is covered with snow but the weather is in-between - there has been both snow and rain in the last 24 hours. I've shoveled out the stairs and started working on a pathway to the boat. But that will take weeks. I took a walk this afternoon and wore hat, gloves, thick fleece, waterproof boots and rain gear. Right now the temperature is about freezing outside and it is 5:30 pm and completely dark out. Southeast Alaska in the winter... rain and snow, snow and rain. When it is clear and blue sky it is usually very cold, could happen in a day or two.

And it did... it is the next weekend and still have not gotten the blog out... it turned cold and snowy. Went cross country skiing yesterday. Beautiful.

I've copied all the DVD's to my computer, there's about
The final flightThe final flightThe final flight

They are loading all the stuff I bought in Juneau... nice day for a flight. The wind was blowing like in Patagonia...
5700 photos... hum... was a great trip, I'll be back!!!! Thanks everyone for making Argentina feel like home. And thanks everyone for making Gustavus a great home to come back to.

A few more photos.



Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Cross country ski tracksCross country ski tracks
Cross country ski tracks

Nice skiing last week end.


17th February 2009

Alaska
Hi Beinak, I’m writing from Bath, England where normally we see only rain. It was quite a great exception last week when 3 inches of snow fell. The public transport didn’t operate for a few days and lectures were cancelled as well. It might be quite funny for people living in Alaska but we suffered a ‘severe weather conditions’. I come from Bulgaria where there is bit more snow than England but far away less than in Alaska. Anyway… it looks so beautiful on the pictures. They really made me want to go there some day. It sounds a great experience and the perfect winter holiday. Martina
17th February 2009

At last...!!
...after 3 different kinds of airplane you arrive Gustavus. That blue house and the truck are yours? I can't believe it's everything under the snow, wow!! Very nice pictures Bill, excellent places. Maybe next year I can see it with my own eyes!
18th February 2009

Welcome home
Hey Bill - Glad you made it back home safely. As always, looking forward to seeing more photos.... Jim.

Tot: 0.249s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 19; qc: 121; dbt: 0.135s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb