I'm in Anchorage and it's bloody cold!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alaska » Anchorage
March 4th 2017
Published: March 4th 2017
Edit Blog Post

From planeFrom planeFrom plane

Views on approach to Anchorage
I'm here in Anchorage. The flight was spectacular and the views of the mountains incredible, thanks to the cold, clear air. The mountains around here seem endless.

They don't allow Lyft or Uber here - bit of shock when I arrived. Took cab to house I'm staying in - cute little place. My host, CJ, is at work. My room is cute, and the German Shepherd, Jazzi, welcomed me.

I walked over to the Lakefront Hotel where I will be volunteering. Of course they had Iditarod souvenirs for sale and I shopped. I had my training with about 70 people. Most of the volunteers are from Alaska, but there are people here from all over the US. Some of them are assigned to a trail checkpoint - which means they keep track of when mushers arrive and leave from their checkpoint. They log in information & send it to headquarters (that's where I'm working). We compile the information from all the checkpoints and it gets sent out from us. I'll explain it better when I actually start doing it.

Tomorrow is the ceremonial start of the race in Anchorage. Other volunteers told me to get there early so
from planefrom planefrom plane

Views on approach to Anchorage
I can walk around and see the mushers & their teams. Since I got up today at 4:30 a.m. and it's now 11 p.m. San Diego time - I'm gonna get some sleep.

Goodnight

Soupy


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

from planefrom plane
from plane

Views on approach to Anchorage
My "home"My "home"
My "home"

This is home for 10 days.
Lakefront HotelLakefront Hotel
Lakefront Hotel

This is where I'll be working.
Alaska BeerAlaska Beer
Alaska Beer

Time for beer.
Bear & beerBear & beer
Bear & beer

I guess the bears like beer too.
Bears & beerBears & beer
Bears & beer

Even polar bears like beer.


5th March 2017

Glad to hear from you
Hey, Sue, Long time no see! I'm jazzed to get your blog and loved the pics! You're pretty brave to go there in the winter. Keep up the pics!
9th March 2017

Love the photos
Hey Sue! love the photos and the description. It's always time for beer! Does the home have a good heater?
10th March 2017

I'm in Anchorage & it's bloody cold.
Hi Ben, Yes, house has good heater. It's literally a 5 minute walk from the hotel where I'm working. Sue

Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0755s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb