Getting Settled


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alaska » Anchorage
February 28th 2018
Published: March 1st 2018
Edit Blog Post

I've met a few more volunteers today, and got my outer wear from a rental place. It's an interesting concept...this couple started renting outdoor equipment like skis and snowshoes, and branched into renting outerwear as well. I'm sure I paid for about half of an entire outfit by renting, but I know I'm getting stuff that will keep me warm. Plus I didn't have to lug all that stuff up here! If I come back another year, I'll know better what I should purchase, but especially this first time it seems a great way to do this. Michelle made a couple trips and brought different sizes of pants and a jacket, as well as a balaclava, several pairs of mittens, gloves, and liners, several hats, a couple extra fleece shirts, and boots! She has also been a trove of information about additional activities and who to contact for them. She suggested a fat-tire bike ride that I may try - they have different levels and rent either just the bike or arrange a tour.

Since I'm still getting my internal clock reset, I had a late breakfast, then took myself for a hike, ending up at Gwennie's for lunch. The hike was longer than intended, due to user error with google maps. I ended up walking an extra 30 minutes because I had to turn around! But that allowed me to justify a taller beer to accompany my chef's salad! The server actually asked for my ID, and seemed to have some difficulty trying to count back that far to figure out if I was over 21. I get it that they have to be careful not to serve minors, but that seemed a bit extreme! She also asked me if I wanted a short beer or a tall one. When I asked her the difference (meaning ounces...?) between tall and short, she simply said, "Size." When I left, I noticed the cool natural stone pillars at the entryway.

I'm heading down to my first volunteer shift, helping with volunteer registrations!

Advertisement



1st March 2018

Re: Getting Settled
Sounds like a real adventure is starting! I hope you enjoyed being carded?
1st March 2018

breakfast beer
and the difference between you and an underage drinker is... hard-fought experience!!

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0421s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb