Alabama Load-In and Fish


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alabama
January 25th 2008
Published: January 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Today was our first load in. We have 12 scheduled hours for it, only it’s 4 this morning, 4 tonight at 9:30, and 4 more tomorrow. Gross. There’s some Mexican Symphony there or something, so we’re all going to siesta in between. Hopefully getting lunch soon.

Load in went well. Our crew is a high school theatre class, literally. The high school and city performing arts center are in the same place, so it would be pretty cool going to school there and having that venue as your theatre. There was a lot of hurry-up and wait for me, as we were seeing a lot of things for the first time, all the gear and whatnot, making a list of what wasn’t included. Following Ryan around pretty closely and gleaning off any information I can. I ran some of the focus on my own, which went fine. I have a lot of things to learn in the next 2 weeks (before Ryan leaves) though!

We went to Cracker Barrel for lunch, which was fantastic. I tried some amazing hashbrowns as well as fried okra (which was better than I'd have guessed.) Then, some girls were painting in my room
Fish Everywhere!Fish Everywhere!Fish Everywhere!

They're all over my room. Kinda freaked me out at first...
and I took a nap. Right now I’m rooming with Sarah, who is in charge for props and stuff and went to school at Whitworth. When I woke up, there were fish all over the room! Set up in random places to dry. Kinda freaked me out a bit, but overall, pretty funny.

To answer posted questions: there were 3 of us in my van, 3 in the other van, and 3 in the truck. The two vans drove together, led by Heath (our Tomtom GPS system that is an Australian man) or Daniel, who is the GPS voice in the other van. The truck left before us, then we passed them, then they passed us when we stopped… came in about 20 minutes after us. The kids are still rehearsing in NC today, but I think this afternoon they hit the road to here. I think, generally, we go as the advance team with one van (one will go away soon) and the truck, and we’ll leave a few hours ahead of the kids, since they don’t need to be around for load ins. Not really sure. I think every city will be different, depending on how much time there is between shows.


(For those of you new to my blog, TS is a section of nerd things for people that are interested. That way those of you who don’t care don’t have to read boring stuff.)

We’ve got these multi-PAR things that are 3 SC 4 PARS together that tilt and have a giant scroller on them. (I’ll get a picture when I can.) We have 12 of these, 6 that fly and 6 on the floor. These light our cyc. I learned something today though. We’ve got a cyc, and in front of that, a black scrim to sort of diffuse it. Behind the cyc is some white muslin. Instead of directly lighting the cyc like we always did in school, we light the mus and it reflects onto the cyc for more even color. I’m super excited to see it in action.



Advertisement



25th January 2008

Tech stuff
Hey, Still cold here and we miss ya. Annee says "Hi" Fish and trees, nice to see that you are learning somethings. Waffles are big in the South. Try and by a Pepsi in Atlanta. Get some catfish and hush puppies while in Alabama. Have Fun and keep your shoes on! Love ya, Dave

Tot: 0.478s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 15; qc: 71; dbt: 0.2917s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb