Souther U.S. Day 16


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alabama » Montgomery
May 19th 2013
Published: May 20th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Day 16 May 19, 2013

Woke up at 5:30 and checked the weather, it still sucks, so I decided to stay here another day.

I didn’t do much, just mostly relaxed. I wanted to see the Tuskegee museum, but it is closed Sundays due to the sequester.

I rode into the Montgomery looking for a postcard. I went to the visitor’s center, which had a sign that you could buy souvenirs there. I parked by bike, walked up to the door and read a sign that said “closed for private party”.

It was hot so I gave up my quest for postcards and went back to the motel.

Monday should be interesting. There is a scenic highway that runs from Gadsdan, Alabama to Chattanooga, Tennessee called “Lookout Mountain Scenic Highway”. Is is 93 miles long and according to the state and local tourist bureaus, and Readers Digest, it is one of the most scenic rides in the U.S.

The problem is that all of the websites give you written directions like “come to a four-way stop sign across from the Podunk general store and make a right”. I couldn’t plot the rout on a map, because the locals and google maps don’t agree on street names or numbers. And I certainly can’t plot the route in my spastic gps (although it has been fine since we left New Orleans).

I am just going to ride to Gadsdan and wing it. Should prove interesting.

The other interesting thing about Monday is that after I get to Chattanooga (and I have NO idea what time that will be) am going to head north toward Lake Cumberland, KY. I won’t get that far today, certainly, but I am going to try and get as close to the KY-TN border as I can. If you look on a map you will probably notice that there aren’t a lot of motels in the area. That should prove interesting as well.

I love getting your comments (and emails for those who wish to remain anonymous). Thanks, I really appreciate3 hearing from you.

I don’t really have time for long winded responses (because of the long-winded blogs) so I usually just reply THX from my phone. I hope no one is offended.

Advertisement



20th May 2013

Love reading your notes from the day. Hope the rest of your trip is dry and sunny. Linda
21st May 2013

Kentucky
I was talking with my friend JJ letting him know where you were today. He is having just as much fun as I am with your travels. He suggested you listen to Lynyrd Skynyrd for your ride in Kentucky. No explanations...just do it.

Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0689s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb