It's Official!


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Nanaimo
April 25th 2015
Published: April 25th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Harrison Hot SpringsHarrison Hot SpringsHarrison Hot Springs

The view doesn't change that much from year to year. It is always great!
No, this has nothing to do with Dianne’s retirement although that, too, appears to be official.

The official thing I have discovered is that I am officially OLD.

On Saturday April 18th, Dianne and I were visiting Steve, Tara, Maya and Jamie in Cedar in between Dianne’s Administrator Retreat at Harrison Hot Springs and the 50th Anniversary of St Joseph’s School in Chemainus where Dianne was principal for three years before we went to China.

Steve and Tara were working, Maya had a birthday party and Dianne wanted to do some shopping so Jamie and I dropped the girls off and went for lunch and then to Maffeo Sutton Park, our “go-to” park in Nanaimo. We climbed things, slid down things and generally ran around. Then we made a fateful decision. Instead of Grandpa chasing Jamie, why not have Jamie chase Grandpa?

This worked well until I was running along a platform that led to a “fireman’s pole” that I have grabbed and slid to the ground many times in the past. My lack of depth perception apparently failed me as I missed the pole and crashed to the ground. I was momentarily stunned but drew a
The Patient by JaneThe Patient by JaneThe Patient by Jane

My sister caught me learning to use my new iPad Mini. Unfortunately, no WiFi in the hospital.
crowd wondering if I was OK. I thought so and just wanted to sit on one of the cross bars of the platform to catch my breath.

When I recovered consciousness, I was lying on the ground looking up at the sky. Some bystanders helped me to a park bench where I started to answer the standard questions people ask when someone may have a concussion. “What day is it, what month….”. I am retired and have been on the road for a week; I am not sure what the answers were to these questions! I was saved the necessity of answering by losing consciousness. There was that sky thing again! Someone phoned 911 (thank goodness). I had left my phone at Steve’s as the battery was dead and I had left my charging cord in Vernon. Cleverly, I had written Dianne’s cell number on a piece of paper in my shirt pocket. Someone asked if there were any loved ones they could phone. I replied “No, but you can call my wife on this number”. That got a good laugh from the crowd and agreement that I may be in trouble with my wife but at least I
Hospital visitorsHospital visitorsHospital visitors

Four youngest grandchildren stopped by with a Tootsie Roll flower. They were happy that I like to share my flowers.
didn't appear to have a concussion.

One lady stood there the whole time holding up a blanket to provide shade. I noticed it when she turned away to speak to someone and I got a momentary blast of sunshine. I really appreciated that shade.

The ambulance guys were great and whisked Jamie and me off to the hospital. Just before we left I heard a guy talking on his cell: “Hi, Dianne… this is Dave…. Your husband has had a fall and they are taking him to the hospital”. Nice call to receive. She was downtown with no car. Luckily there was a cab nearby and she arrived at the hospital just as we did.

Jamie was great and entertained us all on the ride to the hospital by explaining all the features of the ambulance. Apparently he had been paying attention when the ambulance came to his school. When we got to the hospital, he went over the whole event in great detail so the admitting clerks didn't have to ask any questions!

X-rays didn't show anything so one of the ER nurses did a “standing blood pressure test”. I struggled to my feet and
Selfie with nursemaidSelfie with nursemaidSelfie with nursemaid

At least I got familiar with using the iPad as a camera. Luckily, this nursemaid would be returning to Vernon with me.
she strapped the cuff onto my arm. She told me I had to let go of the walker. I claimed I wasn't holding it that tightly but Dianne said my knuckles were white I was holding it so tightly. As soon as I let go of the walker I had a third LOC (loss of consciousness) and the nurse just pushed me back on the gurney so I didn't crash to the floor. The CT scan that followed showed four fractures in the pelvis and sacrum area. That would explain the LOCs said the Doctor.

Four nights in various rooms followed. The staff everywhere I went (three different locations) were great. Each new person I met said “Oh, you’re the guy that…. “. My fame preceded me. The food was great. I can’t thank the hospital enough for the fine treatment I received. I have stories I can fit into conversations for years! Next time you see me, ask me about bedpans.

Since the treatment I need is rest, it might as well happen in Vernon. Dianne arranged for a hospital bed to be delivered to our suite as we have already taken apart our double bed in
Salt in the woundsSalt in the woundsSalt in the wounds

Not only was there no WiFi available, but they had this great IT equipment in every room but we couldn't use it. Five days with mail or comics was tough.
preparation for the move. We didn't think my sleeping on a three inch foamy for the next two months was a good idea.

Dianne packed everything into to car (including me) and we headed for the ferry. Using the accessibility procedure, we were the third car onto the ferry and got a great spot by the elevator. The trip to Mission for our first night’s stop wasn't too bad. Christine and family put us up for the night and I got to use the recliner which was perfect for the occasion. I wasn't looking forward to the next day’s long drive.

But, of course, we had planned our route to stop first at the Blue Moose in Hope for cappuccino (sorry, no pictures) and bathroom break and then at Motivo's in Kamloops for the same. I wanted to stop in Falkland too but the coffee shop we like there hasn't opened for the summer season yet. The trip was remarkably easy for me; Dianne had to do all the work.

The bed was installed when we got home and was a great relief. Unfortunately, Dianne had to do all the unpacking but we are now home and
Blue Moose Coffee HouseBlue Moose Coffee HouseBlue Moose Coffee House

Our favourite stopping place in Hope
settling into a routine. Time will tell how my pelvis mends. I can sit for short periods at the computer which is how this blog got done. The Havana blog had been written before the fall and just not sent. But I realize I am not as young as I thought I was. I will still enjoy playing with the kids but will have to be a little more thoughtful about what I do. Jamie did show Dianne how Grandpa SHOULD have gone down the fire pole. Sigh.

Dianne has now come to the realization that her "house boy" is out of commission and she will have to do the laundry, meals, grocery shopping, driving, dishes, packing, etc. That should make the last few months of school go very quickly and, before we know it, Dianne will be loading up the vehicles for the journey back to Pender Island!

A special thanks to everyone who was able to visit me in the hospital and to Dale and Pat who stopped off some stuff here in Vernon. Our summer plans have all changed but something interesting will happen so it is fairly safe to say To be Continued…


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Wood carving outside Blue MooseWood carving outside Blue Moose
Wood carving outside Blue Moose

Done with a chain saw. Pretty spectacular.
Close upClose up
Close up

Made me think of hospital gowns.


Tot: 0.282s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 22; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0732s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb