to San Carlos


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico
August 6th 2010
Published: August 8th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

To San Carlos


And I did start early; always tried to start my going days early. Taxi to the bus station, bus to Guaymas, taxi to San Carlos, into San Carlos, past San Carlos, past the twin-peaked Cerro Tetakawi, to Los Algordones, beside the Sea of Cortez.

It is here that I stepped firmly back into my tourist shoes. I am at what used to be a resort, and I suppose could still be considered a "resort", though it is small and somewhat quaint. The only restaurant is out by the pool. Just down the street is a crowded mega resort containing three or four restaurants, a gift shop, a huge parking lot full of SUVs and fancy cars, and a sandy beach. My resort has water access but it is rocky, completely, with one set of five-foot wide steps leading into the water. But a nice pool. Hey, $250 a week on the Sea of Cortez, I ain't going to argue too much.

So, here I am (near) San Carlos in a mini-resort, with air-conditioning making my room feel like a meat locker, a shower with no cold water (the coldest it gets is luke-warmer) wondering what the heck this solo, non-Spanish speaking American tourist is going to do here.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



9th August 2010

weather
It doesn't look like it would be that hot that close to the beautiful water. Is there any kind of breeze? It is gorgeous.

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0409s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb